Remaking The Eurythmics

Happy release day to me…Happy release day to me…Happy release day to meeeeeeee, Happy release day to me! Y’all are totally singing along, aren’t you? Sorry for the earworm.

But in case you didn’t realize, today is release day for my fourth Veil book, Ain’t No Bull. Yay! For those of you who have been following this blog for a while,  you’ll recognize this story as the Amazon and Minotaur romance. Yes, I know. Minotaurs? Seriously?  You bet! My hero is a minotaur. He’s half-man, half-bull. Sometimes. Other times, he’s a bull. And still other times, he’ s smexy blond with a naughty smile. *le sigh*

Anyway, this isn’t all about my book. Today is also a continuation of the summer remake series. Going along with the topic of writing and release days, I picked today’s remake because writing is a dream for me. I always aspired to it, but never thought it would go anywhere. Imagine my surprise when it did and it seems that some people actually like the stuff I’ve written. *blinks* I know. Weird, huh?

So today’s remake is “Sweet Dreams (Are Made of These)”. Originally performed by the Eurythmics in the early 80s, this song got a remake in the 90s by a highly unlikely band. Yup, I’m sure you all know who I’m talking about. Marilyn Manson remade this song, making it darker, edgier, and altogether more disturbing than it originally was. It’s kind of interesting how Marilyn Manson has remade so many 80s hits. Were you aware that they’ve remade “Tainted Love” and “Personal Jesus”? I guess good ole Marilyn is a big fan of the 80s, but then again, who isn’t when it comes to the music?

Since today is my release day, I’ll be giving away a PDF copy of my newest book, Ain’t No Bull, to a lucky commenter. You can answer one of two questions: What do you think of the remake? Or what’s your dream?

The original:

The remake:

13 Comments

Filed under What's Playing Wednesdays

13 responses to “Remaking The Eurythmics

  1. Oh my. I’m sticking with the original on this one. Love the Eurythmics!

  2. wyndwhisper

    i grew up in the 80’s and was a big fan of Annie Hall. it is disturbing what he has doneto that song. LOL! but seriously why would you mess with a classic?
    trvlagnt1t@yahoo.com

    • LOL, for a brand new generation who didn’t like the synthesized songs of the 80s, I can see how it would be cool, I really can. I hate choosing between the versions, because I like them both. Which one I listen to depends on what mood I’m in at the time, LOL

  3. I’d have to go with the original. Hey–HAPPY RELEASE DAY! 🙂

    • Rebecca!! *tackle hug* Thank you!! And I have a feeling that everyone’s going to choose the original. Again. *sniff* I will find a remake people like. Eventually.

  4. Original all the way…although, MM did an OK job.

  5. Back to the original, please- Am totally not a fan of MM. PUT a Pink song here if she’s remade any and I’ll vote for her! LOL! Happy release day, again.

    My dream is to be Alan Rickman’s wife but my more realistic dream is to land a contract with Berkeley Prime Crime.

    • See, I don’t really like Pink…Hm.

      Nice, realistic dream. As you no doubt can guess, I’d love to marry Gerard Butler *cough* But um, yeah, so not happening! I’ll stick with my writing dreams instead 🙂

  6. Pingback: Cajun French: Cousin | Unearthly Musings

  7. Happy Release (yester)Day! 🙂 And I’m an eighties music girl so can you guess what I’d choose? lol.

    And my dream? Is to be as fabulous as the writers I call my friends and beg/steal/lie myself into a book contract 😀

Leave a Reply

