The Hotstepper

It’s been a fun month of music that makes me think of my newest release, Primal Design. From ballads to hard rock and now to hip-hop, Kitty and Monk’s story took me on a journey. I hope it’s done the same for my readers. By the way, there’s still time to enter to win one of two stuffed animals I’ve had specially made for the series.

Kitty is a fashion designer and there’s one movie that makes me think of the fashion industry. Prêt-à-Porter came out in the 90s. I’m not sure a lot of people actually saw the movie, but nearly everyone recognizes this song from the soundtrack. From Ini Kamoze, Here Comes the Hotstepper was one of those songs that was all over the radio. I remember riding around with my friends thinking we were all that because we were listening to it.

I was a goofy teenager.

Anyway, of any movie I’ve seen, this is one that interested me when it came to fashion. It seems natural now that I’m a Project Runway fan and wrote about a fashion design. Sure, she’s a bear, but it’s the same concept.

So I hope you enjoy the final song in this month’s theme. Next month we’ll be checking out “black” songs in honor of Halloween. OMG, it’s almost here already isn’t it?? Where did the time go?

2 Comments

Filed under Giveaways, What's Playing Wednesdays

2 responses to “The Hotstepper

  1. I remember it,Danica…AND I was a kid with a teenage sister when “Land of a Thousand Dances” was out with the original “La la-la-la la, la-la-la la, la-la la, la-la la” by Cannibal and the Headhunters,( and then by Wilson Picket).My sister had a silly little friend who thought the name of the group was “Cannonball and the Headhunters”.
    I KNOW…here comes Halloween…I love it.

Leave a Reply

