I’ve Finally Lost My Mind

If you don’t follow me on Twitter or Facebook, you missed a major announcement last night. I’m going to try to quit smoking.

It isn’t the first time I’ll quit. I managed nine months about three years ago, right about the time I began writing seriously. Then the holidays rolled around and my good intentions went down the hill. This time though, I’m going to do my best to stick to my guns.

And I’m not doing it all alone either. I’ve talked with my doctor who prescribed Chantix to help me quit. We’ll see how that goes. I’m also going to take up knitting again. It’s something I used to do to relieve stress, but it’s been so long that I’ll have to learn all over again…which could lead me to wanting a cigarette. Oy. I’ve warned everyone around me, friends, family, coworkers that I’m not going to be the most pleasant person to be around in the upcoming weeks. I think if I can get through the first week, I should survive. Should.

Because have I forgotten to mention that a lot of my coworkers smoke? And a lot of my time is spent around them? Oy. And I’ve chosen a Monday of all days to start being smoke free. Ay-yi-yi.

But it’s okay. I’ve got this. I’m not going to be a slave to the cigarette anymore, desperately searching for a place to light up. I won’t get those disgusted looks from non-smokers who just don’t understand how much I need that nicotine. I also won’t be preaching to smokers the way a coworker does to me. This is one of those habits that you have to want to quit. Someone can’t make it happen no matter how many lectures they’re given or how many horrible commercials are blasted on the television.

Wish me luck cause I’m definitely going to need it.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “I’ve Finally Lost My Mind

  1. I send good luck wishes,prayers and good vibes out to you! I really hope you succeed, for your health’s sake, for your clothes sake, for those around you’s(?) sake and for the sake of your bank account! If the idea of all that money literally going up in smoke doesn’t do it for you,I don’t know what would!

  2. Congratulations for making this difficult decision. I wish you all the best!

Leave a Reply

