Meh for Monday

Really. I hate when the weekend has to end. I had a fantastic two days! I read. A lot. I was actually rereading and worked my way through *thinks* well, a lot of books. I loved it since I don’t get to do that very much anymore. For me, reading helps clear my head in order for me to write. I don’t copy what I’ve written, styles or anything, but it helps quiet the characters talking in my brain enough for me to sift through them until I find the one I need.

That doesn’t make me crazy, by the way.  A lot of authors hear their characters in their heads. Right?

But it’s Monday which means I have to get back to my story. And I’ve finally figured out where to start it. That’s always the hardest part for me. The start of a story. I know how I want the whole thing to go, know what I want in the middle and how I want it to end, but making sure you start at the right moment in order to hook the reader is the most important part of a book for me. If you don’t get me in those first three chapters, I won’t continue reading and I don’t want anyone to pick up one of my books and do the same thing.

So that’s what I plan to start on this week and work through the weekend doing. I love having a plan!

Oh and the Saints lost. Booo! That’s all I have to say about that.

Um, what else? Oh! I remember! I am going to hold a 1000th blog post giveaway here on the blog and I’ve recruited several writer friends to help me out. One thing I can say about the writing industry is that it’s close-knit and helpful. I’ve met some fantastic people in the five years since I started this journey. From people I’ve only talked to online to those I’ve had drinks with at conferences, there are some fabulous people in this industry and even better, they’re always willing to make friends.

I called upon several of them and my rafflecopter is going to be massive. Just sayin’. The giveaway will start on November 20th and run until November 27th and I hope to see y’all here!

On that note. Try to have a happy Monday!

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

