Nuthin’ But A G-String

If you’re not sure you’re in the right place or not…I’m playing songs that were misunderstood by people. The lyrics, specifically. Last week I talked about a friend’s coworker who misunderstood “Dude (Looks Like A Lady)” to be “Do the regulator.” This week I’m pulling my own embarrassing misunderstood lyrics from the closet.

I was a fairly…innocent kid when it came to music. I didn’t listen to hard rock or rap in my teen years. Okay, there was that one summer my friends and I memorized the lyrics to 2 Live Crew’s Me So Horny, but honestly? I had no idea what horny meant at the time. Looking back, I’m horrified at myself. Meh.

High school wasn’t that much different. Not really. I listened to classic rock, some choice alternative rock and country. Yes, I said it. I listened to country music. A lot. So I was completely unprepared for the question shouted my way during a parade. If you remember, I’ve mentioned before that I was a band nerd. I played tuba for eight years starting in 8th grade into college. Along with the drummers, I was part of the rhythm section. We were the ones helped the rest of the band keep the beat. We were also the ones who were supposed to be able “funk it out”.

Let me take you back to about 1992, 1993. I was a junior in high school. I think. That was a long time ago. It was Mardi Gras Day. My high school was marching in the big parade. It was bright and sunny, and hot as hell in my uniform. Lugging a tuba for 8 miles and playing it isn’t as easy as it looks. We stopped on the corner of Main Street and I believe it was Columbus. When this happened, it meant the parade king and queen were doing their toast. If no one falls off their float (from drinking too much) it usually takes 15 minutes to get going again.

I’m tired as hell. We still had another quarter of the parade route to go and I just wanted to get out of my polyester nightmare. The crowd was rowdy. Most likely they’d been up at dawn and started drinking as soon as they got out of bed. I slung my tuba off my shoulder and rested it on my foot for a break, chatting with the others in the rhythm section. A couple other tuba players, few trombone players and a couple of trumpets.

I looked around and this lady in the crowd shouts, and I swear this is what she said, “Play Ain’t Nuthin’ But A G-String, baby!”

Amused because what the hell kind of song is that, I look at a friend of mine and repeat what I thought she said. Michael nearly fell on the street laughing. Of course he had to share this embarrassing little tidbit with the entire brass section which then moved to the woodwinds and the drummers. Hell, the chaperones were probably even laughing at me. It wasn’t until later that I realized there was a song out there called Nuthin’ But A G Thang and that’s what the lady in the crowd wanted us to play. Yeah, okay. I’ll get right on that with my white girl rhythm.

*shuts up*

Now that you’ve read the whole embarrassing story, here’s Dr. Dre and Snoop Dogg with Nuthin’ But A G Thang. G Thang. Not G-Strang. Funny thing is, I really liked the song after I heard it. Now when it comes on, I jam out. *Shrug*

By the way, I’ll have a very special guest stopping by for an interview on Friday. I hope y’all will visit to learn more about him!

3 Comments

Filed under What's Playing Wednesdays

3 responses to “Nuthin’ But A G-String

  1. ROFLOL! And, um…walking and tuba playing NEVER looked easy to me, at all!

  2. Julianne

    Eight miles for a parade???? Geeez, what kind of high did you go to? That’s just cruel and unusual punishment.

Leave a Reply

