Looks Can Be Deceiving

I discovered something very…disturbing about my oldest nephew’s girlfriend. First, let me explain a little about her. She’s darling. You know what I mean. She’s a cute, beautiful girl. She’s also girly. When I mean girly, I mean, she always matches, always looks put together, and well…girly.

She works in a dentist’s office. I think she’s a dental assistant, at least I hope she is, otherwise her putting that suction thing in people’s mouths would be more than a little strange.

Anyway, this weekend, she and my nephew rode with me to my brother’s wedding shower. (It was nice, btw). On the ride home, we were chit-chatting and she tells us ‘I like when we get people in the chair with a gum disease.’ I looked in the rearview mirror at her. I know my face registered my confusion because she clarified:

“I like it when there’s a lot of blood and pus. I just go in there with my suction tube and clean it all out. I like doing that. The more blood, the better.”

I looked over at my nephew, horror on my face.

“Did you know this about her?” I asked him in a stage whisper.

The look he gave me was priceless. It was surprise, horror, and a hint of queasiness.

What could I say to her? Other than, “Maybe you should go to dentistry school.”

I was just so surprised although I was no more surprised when two years before, my other nephew’s girlfriend admitted that she likes playing with raw meat. You heard me raw. Meat. She doesn’t mind filleting fish or cleaning meat to put away. She even said when they make hamburgers at home, she makes them so she can put her fingers in the ground meat. I told her she should become a butcher.

The funny thing is, both of these girls are dainty things. They get their nails done, they tan, they wear cute clothes, and I would’ve never suspected they had these quirks. I’m not saying quirks are bad, but they’re pretty big quirks for such little young women.

I don’t have a problem with raw meat and the like, but I think I’d have to draw the line at playing with other people’s blood. A vampire I’d never be, which is why if I ever had to choose between that and shapeshifting, I’d chose to be a werewolf. Simple choice for me really. As for quirks, I don’t think I have any that would be staggering to some people, although I have heard that I’m the last person who looks like they’d have a tattoo. I don’t know why that is, but there you go. I don’t have just one, by the way, I have three and can’t wait to get more.

So how about you? Have you ever been shocked to discover something about someone because they didn’t look like they would enjoy it? Has anyone ever said you don’t look like the kind of person who would like something?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Looks Can Be Deceiving

  1. KAK

    Pus? PUS? Aw, ick, ew, ick, ick, ick.

    I don’t think I can look at my hygienist the same anymore.

    On the other hand, you’ve given me a whole new avenue to contemplate while I’m people-watching. Now, I’m going to pay special attention to the Too Dainties and wonder which of them likes playing in bodily fluids…and not just the fun-to-generate kind either.

Leave a comment