Decidedly un-Cajun

With Easter approaching, people are making plans for Good Friday.

I’m not sure how it works elsewhere, but in South Louisiana, Good Friday is a holiday. Most companies close so their employees can celebrate it with their families. Now, I’m not a good Catholic. I don’t even consider myself Catholic anymore, but I always found it weird that people went a little buck wild on Good Friday. The usual Good Friday celebration includes mounds and mounds of boiled crawfish and beer. It’s almost a requirement.

I remember working for this small company several years ago and they didn’t give us Good Friday off. The boss said he didn’t call it a holiday because we would just go to the lake and get drunk. I didn’t even know where ‘the lake’ was, so I was a little offended by this remark.

So this is how it works. People start calling around to the local crawfish houses the week before Good Friday to find out when they’re taking orders. Then they start planning who’s bringing what and how much. It’s like a race. On Good Friday, cars hit the road in search of crawfish. Some houses take orders ahead of time, some are first come, first serve. Then these brave people return home for the Great Crawfish Boil.

In several ways, boiling crawfish is like barbecuing. It’s mostly cooked by men and each of them have their own method for boiling. Some feel that a lot of salt in the purging process makes a better boil. Others believe it’s all in the boil. Whatever the case, I can’t eat crawfish! *gasp*

Let me just explain. I love crawfish. I looked forward to this time of year every year, up until about seven years ago. The strangest thing started happening when I would eat crawfish: my feet would itch. I’m talking it’s an itch that will. Not. Be. Satisfied. Over the years (before I realized my consumption of crawfish was causing it), the itch would then carry over to my hands…and one time, my throat began to hurt.

This doesn’t happen when I eat the crawfish boil fixings (corn, potatoes, sausage, mushrooms, etc.), only when I eat the actual crawfish. Which kind of defeats the purpose of having a boil in the first place (or attending one). So now, I don’t have that to look forward to and when I mention to people that I can’t eat crawfish, they look like I told them I have leprosy. “What? You can’t…eat crawfish? WHY?” Like it’s a crime, which in this area, I suppose it is.

What Good Friday/Easter traditions are common in your neck of the woods? Is there a local dish that you can’t eat due to an allergy that you dearly wish you could eat? And most importantly, have you ever had crawfish?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Decidedly un-Cajun

  1. KAK

    Have eaten crawfish, though not in a few years. Kinda askeert now that my feet will spawn little black eyes and antennae.

    Porkopolis is a beer and brat town. We’ll make it fit any holiday–religious or not–though we rock Oktoberfest. Unfortunately, I’m not a beer girl, so I’ll have a nice mead with my brat. Make no mistake…

    Brats. Will. Be. Had.

  2. I’m coming down there for Good Friday….I”m not at all Catholic, but I enjoy good eats!!

    • KAK – Brats and beer…I can so hang with that!!
      Tonya – Sweet! Lots and lots of good food to be had down here…which is why we’re so darned happy. Or at least that’s what I’ve been told.

Leave a Reply

