Quick Note

No, I haven’t forgotten about the blog. Okay, that’s a lie. I do forget. Life is busy, but then that’s why it’s life, isn’t it? Otherwise, it’d probably be called something like ‘limbo’ or ‘stagnant animation’.

There have been quite a few changes since my last post. Some of them were good, some were horrible. Because I want people to understand that I’m not just an author, but also a person, I’ll give you a brief synopsis of what’s been going on since my last post in March 2015.

April 2015 – My dad passed away after a year long struggle with cancer. It happened the day before Easter, to be exact. We knew it was coming, but how can you possibly prepare for losing someone you love? You can’t. There’s always that question people ask, “Would it be easier if you had time to spend with them before they die, or would you prefer it happen fast?” Okay, maybe people don’t ask that until after the agony of loss begins to dull, but I have been asked it. And my answer is neither. They’re both terrible. I lost my stepfather unexpectedly and I lost my dad after a lingering illness. They both hurt. They both leave you with regrets.

When Dad died, I lost all interest in writing. I’m not sure what I did those first few months besides cry and sleep and hug my pets, but writing was the last thing on my mind.

September 2015 – I released the third book in my Crushes to Cravings series, Kiss Chase. And ended up getting myself put on probation with Amazon. I missed my download deadline which means my book didn’t come out when I said it would and I got a year’s probation. That means no uploading of books for pre-order. That sucked!

November 2015 – I moved into my new house. I love it, by the way. I no longer have to battle with neighbors to get onto my street or into my driveway. When I go outside at night, I see stars because we’re far from the city lights. Yes, I moved out to the country. Or swamp if you want to get technical. The Atchafalaya basin is pretty much in my backyard. To date, I’ve several raccoons, possums, armadillos, woodpeckers, eagles, snakes (of course), and deer. In my backyard. Seriously. When you wake up in the morning and stumble outside to let your dog out and a massive buck starts running away from you, for a minute there it kind of looks like they’re coming at you.

The snake… Well, I had a very close call with one of those. As in it was right behind me in the crevice of my screen door trying to get to the chair I was sitting on. I almost fell down my stairs (again). But I managed to gather my composure and be a good neighbor by using a very long stick to pick it up and move it to the yard where it took off for the ditch. No doubt it’s where hundreds of its brothers, sisters, and cousins are hanging out. As long as they stay there and away from me, I won’t have to get physical with them.

December 2015 – I released the second book in my Reindeer Games series, Blitzen’s Savior. That was fun. Christmas was fun. My godson and his wife came home from Florida and announced they were expecting their first child. I cried. Yeah, yeah, I’m a big baby when it comes to my godson. What can I say? He’s my baby and his having a child is like me getting my first grandchild.

January 2016 – My full-time day job duties changed. I won’t go into it, but I’ve taken on more responsibilities. Sort of like Peter Parker and that whole ‘with great power comes great responsibility’ thing, I now have to do things that I swore I’d never do. No, I’m not doing anything unethical. I just have to forget my squeamishness about some things and power through it. So far it hasn’t been too horrible LOL

February 2016 – I released the third and final book in my Southern Sin Series, Sinning to Win. I kept telling myself, and everyone else, that I was going to finish my sci-fi series. Mind you, I started that series while Dad was sick so I think part of my writer’s block has more to do with how I associate that story with the sorrow of losing him. Other ideas came to me while writing Sinning to Win and they were strong enough that I knew a new series of stories had to come from them.

March 2016 – I started working on my brand new series. The Band Nerd series is dear to my heart. Hello? I’m a band nerd and I would’ve adored having a guy like the heroes I’ve dreamed up falling in love with me. Who wouldn’t?

May 2016 – Steady, book 1 of the Band Nerd series came out.

Summer began and it was hot as balls. Just sayin’.

September 2016 – September 2nd to be exact, I put my sweet baby, Mia Isabella Von Hapsburg down. After fourteen and a half years of love, cuddles and puppy kisses, she went to wait for me at Rainbow Bridge. Letting her go was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done. But she was tired. As the vet said, Mia took good care of her people for a long time and deserved her rest. I still can’t help but get choked up when I think about her. I even dream about her, or expect to see her following me around the house.

I realize now, that Mia was a bridge for me. I got her only a couple of months after my stepdad died and lost her a year after my dad passed away. She helped me cope with two of the biggest losses I’ve experienced, and then I lost her too. It’s been an adjustment for us in the Avet house. My cat, who was raised with her, has become far more affectionate than she ever was before. She’s even sleeping with me. In the same spot Mia would sleep with me every night. I’ll admit to feeling lost without her. Hurrying to get home so I can let her out. Looking for her as I’m getting ready for work. *sigh* It’s been a rough month.

But the good thing about writing, is that sometimes we can channel that grief into a story.

I’m releasing the 2nd book in my Band Nerd series next week. Root comes out September 30th.

Now for upcoming news:

I’m feverishly working to finish Dasher’s story for the Reindeer Game series which I’m hoping will be released in December in time for Christmas. After that’s sent off for acceptance/rejection, I’ll finally put word to paper on Taming Hels, the third installment of the Caressed by Starlight serial. Yes, you read that right, I’m going to push those sci-fi stories out as soon as life allows me to. I’m not letting those characters boss me around anymore! Once those two books are out of my hands and with my editor, it’s back to the Band Nerds.

Also, I’m in the process of requesting rights backs from Ellora’s Cave. There will be some books re-released in 2017 with new covers and prices. Check back here, or at my website for more information. By the way, if you want to keep up with new releases, or re-releases, sign up for my newsletter!

That’s all I have for now. I’ll try to communicate more here in the future. I forgot how freeing it can be to just spew out whatever’s in my brain without worrying how many characters I’m using, or if FB is going to give me trouble for posting it.

Talk to y’all soon,
Danica

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, parents, Writing

Leave a Reply

