Touched by Lightning Playlist 4

Here it is, time for What’s Playing Wednesday again.

Touched by Lightning is out now through ARe, Amazon and Ellora’s Cave if you haven’t picked up your copy yet. We’re also only one day away from the end of the Superhero Scavenger Hunt, so if you haven’t entered to win, you’d better hurry!

I’ve made it no secret that Gyda and Brit’s story is one of painful pasts and strong emotions. For the most part, this book wrote itself with little input from me, but when I got to the end, to the big dark moment, I needed a little help. That’s where my music came into play. (Pun intended.)

As y’all probably know by now, I listen to music all the time. When I’m writing, when I’m sleeping, when I’m reading. It’s just a part of who I am and I’ve always been this way. I could probably blame it on my grandfather who’d fall asleep listening to his big band music, but I think it’s just one of my quirks. I must have music playing somewhere around me.

I have a big playlist I created for my regular work days and writing times. It’s a mix of reggae, metal, hip hop and a little dance music. It usually helps me in any situation when I’m writing because it’s such a broad mixture of songs. But when I got to that dark moment in Touched by Lightning I needed something a little more personal. So I created a playlist I called “Broody Songs”. Yes, broody because I wanted to sink into those dark feelings to give my characters more depth.

One of the songs on that list is one I’ve loved for years. I remember hearing it in the Natural Born Killers soundtrack, which I had to buy after watching the movie, and while it still conjures disturbing images of Mickey and Mallory Knox, it worked perfectly for writing a few scenes in Touched by Lightning. There’s something so haunting about this song, the vocals all whispery and soft, that it breaks my heart.

So today’s song is Cowboy Junkies’ “Sweet Jane”.

Leave a comment

Filed under What's Playing Wednesdays

Leave a Reply

