Feeling the Pull

I hope everyone had a great weekend. I was lazy this weekend and still flying high from my book release. The feeling of euphoria hasn’t subsided, but it’s a little more manageable now.

Lately I’ve been struggling with the need to get away. Not anywhere special, just somewhere that isn’t my house, isn’t a conference and isn’t work-related. Over the past four years, all the traveling I’ve done has been for conferences and while I’ve enjoyed them, I’m not able to completely relax. To just be me me, not the Danica me. I want to go somewhere and just waffle around if that’s what I feel like doing, or sight-see, or just sleep the entire time in a new environment.

Don’t get me wrong, I have a lot of fun at conferences and hanging out with my writer friends, but sometimes I just want complete aloneness. You know, me, myself and I so we can get to know each other again. I think it’s important for everyone to do this once in a while since it helps you find your center again, clear your mind and rejuvenate you. It’s also selfish, but sometimes you have to be selfish, right? In my case, I really think a trip like that would help me clear my writer’s mind. I’m not experiencing a block, but I am feeling bogged down by my characters who all want their story written first.

So if I were to go somewhere for a long weekend, if I do decide to take off, where would I go? Somewhere laid back and soothing to the soul. Maybe some place like Savannah, Georgia, or a cabin in Tennessee. Maybe St. Augustine, Florida to poke around. Am I going? Eh, I don’t know. But I’d sure like to try sometime before summer.

How about y’all? Do you ever go on a vacation alone just to have some “me” time? If you could take a trip for that purpose, where would you go? I’ll be over here checking hotels and drive times 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Inspiration

Leave a Reply

