Touched by Lightning Playlist 3

Can y’all hear me counting down from wherever you are? Because it’s almost time for release day. It’s my favorite day ever. Right after nearly every day at RomantiCon, which I’ve registered for. Yay! Just need to call about a hotel room.

Okay, so I’m easily distracted today. Can you blame me? I love release days! They’re better than Christmas and scarier than Valentine’s Day for a single woman. All this pent-up excitement that your baby is going out to the big wide world and all this fear that your baby is going out to the big wide world mingles to make what can only be termed a hot mess.

I already know the drill. I’ll compulsively check my email. Check facebook. Check Amazon. Check Barnes and Noble. Check my email some more (no idea why I’ll do this since all the edits are done). Check the blogs hosting me on Release Day. Rinse and repeat. Normally with a release date like this, I’d go out to dinner with family to celebrate. Just my luck my release date is Valentine’s Day. Twice the reason to be nervous, excited and scared. Meh.

But that isn’t what today’s blog is about. Nope. Today it’s about the music that makes up Touched by Lightning. The last two songs were perfect to get my brain in that dark, gritty mood, but today’s song just screams my hero’s beliefs. When I wrote the original synopsis for this story, which I did before I even started the story, I had plans to make him a guy with a chip on his shoulder, someone who would resist his emotions, resist his soul mate.

Then I started writing and I realized Brit had dark things happen in his past, but he hasn’t let it shape him the way Gyda has. He’s strong, sweet and protective of Gyda in a way that makes me heart him so hard. It’s typical to fall for your own hero, isn’t it? Because I’d have Brit’s babies if I could. That’s normal, right?

Eh. So anyway, today’s song reflects his all-consuming love for Gyda. It doesn’t happen right away of course, but it’s close enough that this song instantly reminds me of them. It’s powerful, dark and yet so sweet it grabs my heart.

If you survived watching that video without crying, stop by Queen Tutt’s World of Escapism to check out this review of Touched by Lightning as well as another chance to enter the Superhero Scavenger Hunt!

1 Comment

Filed under Book Reviews, What's Playing Wednesdays

One response to “Touched by Lightning Playlist 3

  1. Sounds like a really great read. I can’t wait to read it. Always been a fan of the darker heroes.

Leave a Reply

