Touched by Lightning Playlist 1

I’ve been such a blog slacker lately! I’m pretty sure I said something back at the end of 2013 about being a better blogger and then I promptly dropped the ball. And I don’t even have a good excuse. So, I’m just admitting it. I’m a slacker.

But I’ll try to do better. Honest, guv!

And I figured today was as good a day as any because Touched by Lightning comes out next week. To say I’m excited about this book release is an understatement. I’m probably more excited about this book release than all of the others. There are a lot of reasons for it, but I think most of my excitement comes from all of the hard work we’ve put into it. Back in May 2013, Lea Barrymire and I locked ourselves in a room for six hours to hash out the world for this series.

There was a lot of “OMG, I got it!”. She was plugging away at her laptop while I did my pace-and-thinking-and-doing-terrible-impersonations thing, but it worked. In six hours we managed to develop 8 central characters, a plethora of superhuman powers our characters could have along with each powers’ weakness and came up with an entire organizational structure for our heroes/heroines to be a part of. Thus the Order of Themis was born. Over the summer, we smoothed things out, got some input from Amy Ruttan, A.M. Griffin and Cara Carnes on even more characters for us to use while I began writing Touched by Lightning.

And that’s what today’s post is about. The writing process.  This story is one of the darkest I’ve ever written. When we came up with this series idea, we knew we wanted something dark and gritty. I like to think of the Love’s Defenders series as a cross between X-Men and The Crow. Actually, that’s how I proposed the series to our publisher. We wanted a world where nearly every genetic mutation was possible, but minus the spandex. Where the superheroes were flawed or had painful pasts. A world where you can only sit there and think “God, I hope he/she finds someone who’ll accept them for who they are.” And that’s what we did.

So to help with that darkness, I had to have the perfect music. This month I’ll play songs that really spoke to me during the writing process. Granted, I have several playlists I used for this book, but some songs managed to put me in the place I needed to be to connect with my characters better than others and those are the ones I’ll feature this month.

First on the list is Seether’s “Driven Under”. It’s moody, it’s dark and it really worked for Gyda and Brit’s story.

Check back next week to find out what other songs were pivotal for writing Touched by Lightning!

CoverBook one in the Love’s Defenders series.

When empath Gyda St. Germaine is rescued from a sex-trafficking ring, she vows vengeance on her tormentors. Aided by two distinct personalities who bolster her powers, she becomes a vigilante, hungry for revenge. Her path of retribution tosses her into the arms of an Order of Themis Siphon and her world is turned upside down. Fighting her past takes a backseat to her all-consuming desire for the man whose honor and sense of justice go against everything she believes.

The moment electricity manipulator Brit Harper stumbled across a feral woman with a bloody knife, his life changed. Black and white becomes gray as the scales of justice tip. Fascinated by her strength and the darkness in her eyes, he vows to teach her the true meaning of justice and help her explore the passion sizzling between them. But when the evil haunting Gyda’s dreams returns in the flesh, he’ll have to choose between his beliefs and the woman he loves.

February 14, 2014 buy link: http://www.ellorascave.com/touched-by-lightning.html

P.S. I can’t believe I forgot today is the start of the Superhero Scavenger Hunt! Be sure to stop by and test your superhero movie knowledge for a chance to win a $25 gift card and an Order of Themis travel mug!

Lea Barrymire 2/5- Wed
In The Pages of a Good Book 2/6- Thur
A.M. Griffin 2/7- Fri
Literary Nook 2/8- SAT
deal sharing aunt 2/10- Mon
For Whom The Books Toll 2/11- Tue
Queentutt’s World of Escapism 2/12- Wed
Tattooed Book Review 2/14- Fri
Unearthly Musings 2/14- Fri
AReCafe 2/15- SAT
Riverina Romantics 2/17- Mon
Clutter Your Kindle 2/18- Tue
For the Love of Bookends 2/19- Wed
Lusty Penguin Reviews 2/19- Wed
Sizzling Promo 2/20- Thur

2 Comments

Filed under What's Playing Wednesdays

2 responses to “Touched by Lightning Playlist 1

  1. Wow! I can’t wait to read the about the world you and Lea came up with. Plus, the cover is gorgeous!

  2. I’ve not only slacked on one blog,I haven’t even checked in with my friends.
    Best of luck with this,Danica.

Leave a Reply

