Rock My World

On the Sixth Day of Pre-Release the author gave to me…

…Fusion music! The inspiration for some of the tunes mentioned in the Unveiled Seductions series, including book four, which is being released on December 4, 2013.

Anya Cover From the first time I envisioned the character of Xbal Montegro, jaguar god, sex magic practitioner and hero of Jaguar in the Sun, I knew he was going to be a music promoter. It fit with the story line since the Midnight Café, setting of the series, had branched out from tattooing to become a hangout spot, complete with stage shows. Besides, I loved the idea of the kinds of fusion music you might find beyond the Veil, a place where old gods, fey, weres, vamps and all kinds of other characters of myth and lore live.

The first mention I made of music in the series was a Vamp-Ska band… and I had a gypsy-ska song my daughter had introduced me to years before as the inspiration. Neither of us could remember exactly which song it was (might have been Coffee, God and Cigarettes by Mischief Brew, but I seem to remember more of a ska beat to the song) so I went looking on YouTube to see if I could find it. Of course, I found something even better (and a new favorite group) in Gogol Bordello. Here’s sort of what I had in mind when I dreamed up Vamp-Ska, although Gogol Bordello is usually described as Gypsy Punk:

 

In Jaguar in the Sun the heroine, Cassie, goes to Xbal’s office to proposition him and there’s a band in the lobby, jamming. This is the description of what she hears:

Immediately she was bombarded by a blast of sound coming from a group of people lounging in the reception area, each one with an instrument in hand. This was music unlike any she’d heard before, with a driving, almost discordant backbeat provided by a couple of guys, one with a pair of Congo drums, the other with what looked like a plastic tub. Above it was overlaid the wail of a bagpipe and the counter-beat of a bass guitar. And flitting through it all were the high, sweet notes of a wind instrument—a piccolo by the sound of it—diving and climbing between the other sounds, weaving them all together into something magical and strangely compelling. Enchanted, she paused in the vestibule and let the door swing shut as the music washed over her, somehow soothing her nervousness and, at the same time, heightening her anticipation.

There are a number of really good Celtic fusion groups and sounds, but being attracted to the sounds of Africa, this fusion of Celtic and Gwana music really appealed to me:

I love all kinds of music, as you might have figured, so this has been so much fun to dream up and research. I’m already cruising YouTube looking for the next inspiration! Tomorrow on the Seventh Day of Pre-Release, I’ll be at Amy Ruttan’s blog talking about my idea of where the old gods go when they disappear from our world. I bet you can guess where that is!

Anya Richards

Journeys Through Seduction

Follow me on Twitter

Like me on Facebook

Blurb:

Jaguar in the Sun

Anya Richards

Book four in the Unveiled Seductions series.

Cassandra Solinar has a bucket list and jaguar god Xbal Montegro is on it. About to undergo an essential rite she won’t survive, she wants to wring every ounce of pleasure out of the time left. Including discovering if Xbal’s sex magic technique is as good as rumored.

It’s no hardship for Xbal to accept Cassandra’s invitation for one erotic encounter, but far more difficult to let her go once he gets a taste of the explosive passion between them. Now he’s determined to hold on to her, no matter what.

Cassie can’t tell Xbal the truth about what she’s about to do. It’s illegal, but without her death the entire world will perish. It’s a job she’s been preparing for from birth, but the loss will be greater now. For in Xbal she finds a soul-deep connection she doesn’t want to lose, and the one thing she made a point of not putting on her bucket list—love.

A Romantica® paranormal erotic romance from Ellora’s Cave

 Anya banner

1 Comment

Filed under What's Playing Wednesdays

One response to “Rock My World

  1. ELF

    Congrats on the new release and thanks for sharing the music!

Leave a Reply

