Veterans Day

I’m going to keep today’s post short. Mostly because I forgot about it until just now. I know, I’ve become such a horrible blogger! But I have so much going on, it’s easy to forget a lot of things.

Like giving thanks to the people who serve and have served our country. I’m sure I might have mentioned this before, but a lot of men in my family have been in the military. My grandfather joined the Army Air Corp right before World War II and was actually on his way to Hawaii when Pearl Harbor was attacked. I don’t remember many of his stories except that he hated pineapples after his stint there and he got to dance with Grace Kelly for a few seconds as part of a USO show. I thought that was pretty awesome.

My stepfather’s dad did a stint in Europe at the same time. Normandy Beach and I remember sitting with him and listening to his stories although I couldn’t tell you what they were. I just liked to listen to him talk and look at his medals. I thought that was pretty awesome too.

My uncle was an MP in the Army, stationed in South Korea. He doesn’t talk much about those days, although I think whatever he saw and did over there eventually brought him happiness because he met his wife there. Sure, they’ve endured a lot since then, but they’ve always had each other and I think that’s amazing.

My stepdad joined the Navy when he graduated high school. He became a Seabee. I used to laugh at his stories because part of the basic training was swimming and he couldn’t swim. When it was his turn to dive into the pool and do his thing, he dove straight for the side and sort of floated until he got to the other side. He totally cheated, but he did his thing and went to Vietnam. I was lucky to have gone to his company reunion when I graduated from high school. I say lucky because I got to meet the men who were in the pictures he brought back from Vietnam with him, talk to the people he talked about rarely. And they were great. We watched old slide shows of the guys’ time there and listening to them rag on each other, get choked up about someone they lost…It was touching. It wasn’t the senior trip my fellow classmates had, but it gave me a new appreciation for our military.

They sacrifice so much for the citizens of our nation. They give pieces of their hearts, their souls to doing what so many of us wouldn’t even think about doing. And they do it with pride, honor. That’s something everyone should respect and be grateful for. Because while everyone is born to take, not all of us are born to give and that’s what our veterans and current service men and women do. They give and give.

So today, I’d like to give my thanks to them all. To the veterans who keep our history alive with stories they share with the next generations, to the families and friends who’ve lost loved ones fighting for freedom, to the men and women who are serving now, doing their best to keep us free, there aren’t enough words to thank you for what you’ve done. But you have my thanks all the same.

Leave a comment

Filed under Inspiration

Leave a Reply

