Rockin’ the Rose Tattoo

I actually don’t have a rose tattoo. It was never an image I wanted, but yes, I do have tattoos and I want more. Isn’t that always the way of things? There’s something almost hypnotic about being under the needle. Yeah, I’m aware that to non-tattooed people it sounds weird, but there it is.

Even better, tattoos are monuments set into skin, art that tells the story of a person’s life. It could be something as simple as a silly Disney character you had done when you were drunk to a well-thought out tattoo in memory of a lost one. They tell stories, they show who you are and what you’ve done. I have three and I remember each one. They aren’t memorial tattoos, but abstracts but I remember the person I was when I got each one.

The first was my big dare in college. The second was after college when I also got my tongue pierced. It’s actually my favorite tattoo of all. The third was done about 7 years ago. I got it with a friend who was getting her first. I have more planned and as soon as I can find the money, I’ll get them done.

And Dropkick Murphys wrote a song about tattoos, what they mean to the person who has them. Yes, I know there are people out there who regret their ink, but for the most part I think most people look back at them to remember that brief freeze frame in time. At least I do. I think back to the kid I was, the person I was growing into and I think of them fondly.

So here’s “Rose Tattoo” by Dropkick Murphys. It’s a great song and one I have to sing along with everytime.

Leave a comment

Filed under What's Playing Wednesdays

Leave a Reply

