Sweet Freedom

Mostly.

I had a productive weekend. Not to brag or anything. But it’s been a while since I had a weekend where I was able to send off a story for my critique partners to be looked over, get them back, revise as requested, send the story off the my editor for final proofreading and beta read my friend’s story. Oh and add 3k to the WIP that I’ve been working on since June.

That story still isn’t ready but 35k is a good milestone to reach. I figure if I can churn out another 10k a week, it’ll be ready to send off to my CPs and betas before September ends. Which means it’ll still be past my deadline, but it’ll be finished and that’s all that matters, right? Of course, I probably have more people who have to read this story than the other. Mostly because we’re all in this together. Kind of like a continuous line of conjoined twins, all attached at the hip, if one of us goes down, we all go. Heh. How’s that for morbid?

Other than that, the weekend was pretty good. The Saints won in a spectacular game against the Falcons. I mean…okay I admit I may have dozed off during halftime. What? I’d had beer, doughnuts and was sleepy! I woke up when things got exciting. And stayed glued to the edge of my seat while the Matt Ryan took the Falcons down the field into Saints’ territory in the last 2 minutes of the game. They got to the goal line. Six points down and there’s only one thing they can do: go for the touchdown. No field goal would work to put them in the lead. They needed 6 points to tie and the extra point to pull ahead.

Matt Ryan went back and launched the ball in the end zone…Only to have the ball deflected and intercepted by the Saints.

I was screaming my fool head off. I was going in-sane, y’all. I hate when the Saints lose, but when we lose to the Falcons, or Cowboys, Bears or 49ers, it’s like being sliced with the biggest piece of paper ever and someone then pouring a nice salty lemon juice solution over the cut. Yeah, it hurts. It’s been years since the Cowboys, Bears and 49ers have been in our division, but I remember the 80s…and the blackouts and when the Saints were Ain’ts and it hurts when we lose to them now. But for the Falcons to beat us? Meh, it’s that lemon juice solution times a thousand. Those Dirty Birds…Meh. But we won, so I can be happy!

Right? But it’s Monday and Mondays suck. I wish I was home in my bed. How about y’all? Is anyone else suffering from football hangover from gorging themselves on the first full weekend of football in months? Anyone?

1 Comment

Filed under humor

One response to “Sweet Freedom

  1. Stacy McKitrick

    No football hangover for me, but then I don’t drink those beers (or is that bees – you still crack me up with that!). The Steelers and Bengals sucked (big time), but I got my joy when I saw the Rams won! Actually, it was more like shock. Sure wish it was on TV here so I could have seen it. Bad enough we had to watch the Steelers at B-dubs, I wasn’t about to stick around for another game.

Leave a Reply

