Kicking It Old Skool

It’s Friday! Yay! Is everyone jumping up and down with happiness? I am. And not just because last night Peyton Manning got me 120 points in my fantasy football league. Oh no, I’m happy because it’s Friday and I can write this weekend. Okay, I’m only writing on Saturday because Sunday is more football, but I have planz y’all.

But there’s more going on than football. I know it’s hard to believe, but it’s true. First of all, the Living Dangerously Scavenger Hunt Blog Hop is still going on and you don’t want  to miss that! I’m even giving away reader’s choice of my backlist of books, which is small potatoes compared to the grand prize. Be sure to check it out!

And as if that isn’t enough, I’m holding a Fan Appreciation giveaway on my Facebook fan page. All you have to do is be a member of my fan page (which happens to boast some hot men). I’ll pick a random person at the end of the month to win some swag. Best thing about this giveaway is that it’ll take place every month, so there’s endless chances to win! Sweet, huh?

It isn’t as sweet as the song I’m pulling out of the vaults for y’all today. To be honest, I can’t take the credit for this week’s pick. When I was at physical therapy this week, my therapist was telling us about the fishing rodeo held on Grand Isle. He said, “You’ll never guess who played the rodeo the past two years…2 Live Crew.” I was shocked. I mean, I guess I figured they had their moment in the spotlight and disappeared like most groups in the 90s were supposed to. But apparently they’ve been performing here in Louisiana with Juvenile. Who knew?

Then this sweet 16-year-old girl asked, “Who’s 2 Live Crew?”

And I felt old because back in the day they were the baddest of the bad. Anyway, since that conversation, every morning I’ve gotten ready for work, I’ve been rapping this song. I was in 7th grade when it came out because I distinctly remember going to a sleepover and singing it with my friends. *shudders* God forbid if I heard my 11-year-old niece singing this song. I’d probably beat her ass.

So for all us oldies, here’s a Freaky on Friday song: 2 Live Crew with “Me So Horny”. I feel all…nostalgic and shit.

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Freaky on Friday

One response to “Kicking It Old Skool

  1. Don’t feel so old … you were in 7th grade … I was already “legal” but I still feel 12 inside … ah life.

Leave a Reply

