Belated Weekend Review

It’s Thursday and I’m blogging about last weekend. I could say it took me this long to recover, but that’d be a partial lie. Maybe like 70% true, 30% false. Or maybe even 60/40. Either way, this weekend really tired me out. It was fun, but it wore me down.

See, I’ve decided to do this 30-day squat challenge which I started on Thursday last week. (If you’re interested, I’m up to 80 now.) That normally wouldn’t be a problem. Working out, or pseudo-working out is better than nothing. But I forgot about New Orleans. I enjoy spending time in the Quarter, especially when I can show a friend around.

Unfortunately for me and A.M. Griffin, it wasn’t just hot this weekend, it was hot as balls. Pardon my crudeness, but it was a totaly sweaty nightmare. If you’ve never been to the French Quarter, it stinks. Especially when the heat and humidity is high. Bourbon Street doesn’t close as far as I know, so people party all day and night. When people party all day and night, they tend to lose control of some bodily functions and inhibitions and do whatever wherever. If you catch my drift. Don’t get me wrong, the Quarter is still a great place to visit. Usually after a good hard rain though, or if the street cleaners have been out.

That wasn’t the case this weekend.

But that isn’t even the reason I’m so tired. You see, I got to NOLA a little late. I blame it on that wrong turn I took, but by the time I got there it was 10 in the morning and I had to save Griffin from eating her entire stash of chocolate for breakfast. We hit the streets in the search of food…and returned to the hotel at 4 that afternoon. We only sat down twice in that entire time which means we walked a good 4 hours. No biggie, right? Wrong! We were dragging ass by the time we got back to the hotel. DRAGGING. I thought Griffin was going to melt in the heat. It was a nightmare. We had fun window shopping and people watching and staring at the guy in the one-piece swimsuit/jumper thing and heels and shopping some more.

We spent a lot of time in…*frown* I have a card for the store, but I can’t remember what it’s called. It’s an adult toy store. *cough* We actually probably spent more time looking for the store than we did in it. From one end of Bourbon to the other, we traipsed back and forth, ogling the pretty men without their shirts who were there for Southern Decadence Fest, eyeballing Prince and Michael Jackson impersonators and pausing in front of as many businesses with cool air as we could. Because that’s the trick of surviving a walk in the Quarter: Soaking up as much cool air as you can when doors open. Anyway, we finally found the store and bought a whole bunch of stuff to give away. I’m not going to say why we’re giving stuff away yet, but I’ll explain that later.

Anyway, the result of all this walking and shopping and goofing off? We were in bed by 11. Yes, we’re in New Orleans, the Big Easy and we were in bed for 11 p.m. Apparently I snored. I don’t recall. Whatever. It was a long, wearing weekend and we were only together 24 hours! Of course now we’re all excited about RomantiCon in October and RT in May. They’re going to be epic.

If you’re heading to New Orleans for RT next year, my recommendation is to get a lot of walking experience under your belt first, buy a pair of uber comfortable shoes and a bag  you can carry about a case of water in. You know, just in case the heat is atrocious the way it was this weekend.

Leave a comment

Filed under humor

Leave a Reply

