The Army Ants Did Well

A few years ago my sister-in-law introduced me and my brother to this wonderful thing called Trivia Night. It’s a charity event where teams of 6 compete against one another in 10 trivia categories. Since that time she invited us to join her team, I don’t think we missed a single one. Then this year, we expanded to a new trivia night…and this weekend, we went to yet another, driving an hour out of the way to attend. We went as the Army Ants (of Big Bang Theory fame) and the team was me, my best friend since Jr. High, sister, brother, sister-in-law and my godson.

In all the trivia nights we’ve done, we do well. As in we’ll get anywhere between 76 to 89 questions out of 101 correct. Of course that always puts us in the middle of the pack. So this weekend at the new trivia night, when they asked our team how many questions we thought we’d get correctly, we wrote 83 on our little paper. Oh and because my friend who signed us up for trivia night put me as the team captain, when they made everyone announce this number, I had to shout out “83”…Which wouldn’t have been bad if everyone else hadn’t said 47…56…60….get where I’m going with this? When I oh so innocently said we were going to make 83 points, the other teams around us turned to stare and there was a collective “ooh”. I wanted. To. Die. And what does my team say? “You should’ve said 50!” Hello! You put the number on the paper. I just went with what the group agreed upon.

Needless to say we were confused, but we decided to use our whopping 83 as intimidatoin tactics. Those professors at the back table were shaking in their loafers. (not) We’ve always done well. But as soon as the first question was asked, we realized the err of our ways. These questions were hard. Questions about presidents’ dogs kicked off the start of a trivia night that ended with us making 55 points. 55! But it still put us at number 4 out of 11 teams.

It was a lot of fun, but then we always have fun at these things. We’re nerds. I know eventually we’ll end up having two teams of 6 because everyone’s going to want to play. Which is awesome as far as I’m concerned. It raises money for good charities, puts all our useless knowledge to use and gives us a chance to do something together for a common cause. Sure, there’s a lot of “stop shouting the answers” or “write it down” or “I’m 110% sure” going on, but it’s all in fun. I really can’t wait until the next one.

What did y’all do over the weekend?

Leave a comment

Filed under Family

Leave a Reply

