My Summer Pain

It’s been awhile since I blogged regularly, so I’m taking this slowly going with the things I missed about blogging. Mainly my What’s Playing Wednesdays. I’m a music hound, so of course I missed picking songs out for y’all to listen to.

Which brings us to today’s post. While I was laid up with the bad shoulder, camped out in the recliner and drugged out of my mind (those first few weeks), my cousin’s 11-year-old daughter came to spend the days with us. She’s a good kid and made the days fly by. But she’s also 11 years old which means she’d wait for me to pass out from the painkillers, steal the remote and put her shows on. It’s been a long time since I watched Nickelodeon all day long. But I did that this summer. Five days a week, six to eight hours a day. Sure, when I was on the medication I found it hilarious. Of course anything’s funny when you’re high as a kite. Later though, I realized she’d brainwashed me. Yes.

How do I know? Because she somehow managed to make my mind absorb the words to this song and remember them. And they’re engrained. Forever.

 If you’ve followed my blog for the last…I don’t even know how long I’ve been writing it. Four years? Five? Something like that,  you’d know that while I adore my music, bubblegum pop has never been my thing. I didn’t like boy bands when I was a pre-teen. While my friends were going nuts over Menudo when I was in elementary school or New Kids on the Block when I was in junior high, I was digging Duran Duran or Black Sabbath and Jethro Tull. I am not a boy band fan, never have been. But I know the words to this song. Why? Because we watched Big Time Rush nearly every day.

So that’s what this month’s theme is going to be. What I did this summer…as in what songs will forever remind me of my 11-year-old niece cornering me on my recliner and singing “Pink, fluffy unicorns covered in rainbows/pink, fluffy unicorns covered in rainbows!” while I cringed. CRINGED, y’all.

Now…sing it “It’s the only life you got/So ya gotta live it big time”.

1 Comment

Filed under humor, What's Playing Wednesdays

One response to “My Summer Pain

  1. I am so sorry.No amount of pain killers could stop the unicorns, huh? Mend well, My Friend!(My best “World’s Most Interesting Woman” impression.)

Leave a Reply

