A Big, Scary Step

Hey y’all, I’m back!

Well, sort of. The surgery put me down a lot longer than I expected. It wasn’t just the surgery and the painkillers that brought me low, but the recovery was a pain in the ass. Sure, my physical therapist is downright cute. So is my surgeon. That’s what I thought the first couple of weeks of physical therapist. Now, 10 weeks in, I’m kind of like “meh, do you really wanna hurt me?”

But I’m finally to the point where I can move without too much pain, I only tap out during my physical therapy sessions instead of balling my fist with the intention of letting it fly straight at Jason’s cute face and my life is starting to get back to normal. Sort of. Still sleeping in my recliner, but at least I’m not in The Sling anymore.

Even better? I’ve been able to write. Yes! Nearly two months of attempting to write and having my hands swell or my shoulder ache thirty minutes means there was no way I could get more than a few hundred words down at a time. But the last couple of weeks have been better…and the better means I’m making progress on a story I have slated to finish by the end of August and finish a short story that I’m…are you ready for this? Self-publishing.

Freeze Tag comes out today and it’s my second non-paranormal story…or spoof ever. *frown* wow. It’s straight up contemporary with no witches, vampires, shifters, banshees, succubi…oh my. It’s part of a series I thoguht up called Crushes to Cravings where childhood crushes/first-loves turn into adult cravings. The stories are named after children’s games but I can promise you there’s nothing innocent about them.

It’s a scary thing taking that step into self-publication. You’re putting your stuff out there with no safety net. It’s just another step in my writing career. Maybe it won’t work out, maybe it will. Whatever happens, I’m very pleased with Dahlia and Foster’s story and the stories of those who are following. Not everyone finds the love of their life in a game of freeze tag at five years old, but Dahlia Flanagan did when Foster Blanchard caught her. Twenty years later he’s finally realized she’s the woman for him and everything is wonderful, until gossip of Foster’s infidelity rolls around the tiny town of Grand Terre, shattering Dahlia’s hopes for the future.

With her world crashing around her, Dahlia breaks up with Foster in the middle of Walmart and makes plans to leave her hometown. She’s heading for a new life, with a new attitude, which includes buying some sexy clothes to prove to herself no skinny skank has anything on her! But the therapeutic shopping trip takes an erotic turn when Foster shows up in the fitting room to convince her that when he tagged her all those years ago, he meant to keep her forever.

How has everyone been? Any good gossip going ’round? And if you could be so kind as to share the news about my short story, I’d be much obliged!

FreezeTagCoverARe

Not everyone finds the love of their life in a game of freeze tag at the age of five years old, but Dahlia Flanagan did when Foster Blanchard caught her. Twenty years later, he’s finally realized she’s the woman for him and everything is wonderful, until gossip of Foster’s infidelity rolls around the tiny town of Grand Terre, shattering Dahlia’s hopes for the future.

With her world crashing around her, Dahlia breaks up with Foster in the middle of Walmart and makes plans to leave her hometown. She’s heading for a new life, with a new attitude, which includes buying some sexy clothes to prove to herself no skinny skank has anything on her! But the therapeutic shopping trip takes an erotic turn when Foster shows up in the fitting room to convince her that when he tagged her all those years ago, he meant to keep her forever.

4 Comments

Filed under humor

4 responses to “A Big, Scary Step

  1. Sounds like a great series idea. Lots of luck with it. I hope it sells well.

    Glad you’re recovering. Love ya.

  2. I like the sound of this series. I’ve been sitting here trying to think of kids games we used to play and all I can come up with is Red Rover. Think my age is showing? LOL!

    Glad to hear your shoulder’s getting better!.

  3. Welcome back to the writing world! Hugs on the slow recovery, but it’s finally paying off!

  4. I’m glad you are back and on the mend,Danica. Best of luck with your endeavor. Stay well now!

Leave a Reply

