Captain’s Log RT Day 1

We’re here! Well, I’m here. And in Danica World, where I’m the center of the universe, that’s all that matters. Because everything else revolves around me.  I’m rockin’ it too. I have the whole gravity thing going on, some sparkles (stars to the layman) and I’m out of sight!

Okay, I’m laying it on thick. But I’m here in the lovely Kansas City for Romantic Times Booklovers Convention 2013. The flight from New Orleans to KC was fairy uneventful. No extreme hotties for me to ogle, but we were taken for a wild ride when we hit some high winds right before landing.

Then I loafed around the airport waiting for my partners in crime to arrive. Once we were all on the van (me, Lea Barrymire, Cassandra Carr and Shell Saunders-Bryce) I let the “other” me disappear and Danica slowly emerged. My hotel room? Awesomesauce. It’s pretty posh. Walked a bit, had food at the Crayola Cafe. Hello? More awesome.

And we left a calling card:

482520_607839189229095_795802365_nIf you’re ever in the Kansas City area, I highly recommend Tuesday night at the Flying Saucer. It isn’t easy getting a table, but if you do and it’s more room than you need, invite the next folks in line to join you. We did and they turned out to be a lot of fun. I hope they enjoyed themselves at the Fleetwood Mac concert and want to give a huge thanks for them buying our first round of beers.

Anyway, The Flying Saucer was great. The food was good (very good), they had an amazing beer menu (I worked my way through nearly all the pale ales they offered) and they had trivia night. If we would have had more people with us I’m sure we would’ve beat those college kids. Sure of it! There’s also a very trendy grouping of bars and night clubs that I’d love to explore some more. That might be on the agenda. And I need to get T-shirts while I’m here.

But we had fun. I wish I could chat more, but it’s the official “start” of the conference and I need to get a move on. If you’re in the area, be sure to stop by the RT Book EXPO on Thursday afternoon from 4-6 pm. Even if you can’t make it, you can still buy books to support your favorite (and discover new) authors by clicking on their name on the Big Book EXPO page!

1 Comment

Filed under humor

One response to “Captain’s Log RT Day 1

Leave a Reply

