The Pre-RT Panic

I’m sure I’m not the only person going through their checklists of what they need to pack. I’m also sure I’m not the only person attending RT who couldn’t sleep because they were trying to make sure they didn’t forget anything. Or hop out of bed at midnight to make sure they packed a necklace they probably won’t wear the entire convention. Right?

I barely slept last night and I don’t think it was because of Vikings’ season finale. It was a nail-biter for sure, but I’m honest enough to know I’m anal when it comes to packing. I also doubt my sleepless night was due to me taking a four-hour nap yesterday morning. I didn’t mean to do it. I woke up early, had a cup of coffee and then it started raining. Oh, it was so lovely to huddle in my bed with the drapes drawn, the rain pattering the roof, my dog snoring at my feet and…voila, I slept four hours.

When I woke up, I was so not motivated to do anything. I didn’t want to pack. I didn’t want to read. I didn’t want to write. I just wanted to veg out, but later in the afternoon I knew I had to make an attempt to get last-minute items. Like a few extra shirts or something. Just in case I decide to change clothes twelve times in one day. What? You don’t do that? Anyway, I’m in the dressing room at the store trying on a new top when I look at my legs in the mirror.

Holy crap! Y’all, I swear it looked like I had elephantiasis of the thighs. Like I was smuggling two piglets in  my pants legs. I forgot that I’d been using a stepper to work out. At least I hope that’s the reason it suddenly looked like my quads were going to burst out of my jeans, but holy hell…I’m never wearing those jeans again. And if you see me at RT, don’t stare at my thighs. *shudder*

Anyway, the panic is starting to set in. I just know I’m going to forget something I really wanted to take with me. All because I had to have a stupid necklace I probably won’t remember to wear. Meh. But it’s okay. I’m going to have fun anyway.

If you’re going to be at the convention and you want to stop to chat, just look for the woman with fire-red hair with blonde and pink streaks. That’ll probably be me.

I’ll also try to keep y’all up on what’s going on. Be sure to follow me on Twitter: @danicaavet and Facebook so you can see pictures of the convention first hand! Sort of. LOL

3 Comments

Filed under humor

3 responses to “The Pre-RT Panic

  1. authorcassandracarr

    Oh Danica…you crack me up. I slept well, but I keep thinking “Should I bring this/that/the other thing?”. It’s a never-ending cycle. See you tomorrow, Cajun Hotness!

  2. I just got home from last minute shopping. I’m only going just to enjoy myself and meet a lot of great authors and readers so I don’t have to worry about anything fancy. Well, maybe one night of fancy. I’ve lost weight and NONE of the clothes Iwas planning on taking fit so the last couple of weeks was a scurry to find clothes. No easy feat in my small part of the world! LOL!
    I hope I have what I need!

  3. Julianne

    LOL!! Danica. You mean people are supposed to actually have a check list? I just threw stuff in a duffel bag and that was it. 🙂 But I didn’t have to think about bringing promo items.

Leave a Reply

