Pork and Beans

Welcome to the blog for another What’s Playing Wednesday!

RT is right around the corner and I’m starting to get the pre-trip panic. You know, making lists so I pack everything I need and a million things I don’t need. Like, do I really need to bring a cute stuffed squirrel with me? Of course I do! It’s not a real squirrel by the way. It’s a plush stuffed animal and oh so adorable. I think I posted pictures of it somewhere.

But because RT is creeping up on me and the frantic need to start packing has started to keep me awake at nights (I’m not packing until this weekend), I’m diverting myself with work. Work, work, work, work. I’ve been clearing off my desk and performing work audits this week and I still have a stack of work left to do. It isn’t that I put it off. I just postpone paperwork in favor of more pressing things. So far the more pressing things have been completed so I can finally concentrate on the annoying things. *mutter*

And yet, I don’t mind. Because come Tuesday, I’ll be on my way to Kansas City leaving behind the serious-minded employee. Somewhere between New Orleans and Kansas City, I’ll finally break free of the prison I force myself into when I’m not at conferences. For nearly a full week, I can be Danica. Wild, fun, carefree and a little crazy. Which is sad because I’d love to do it all the time. One day I’ll be able to let Danica out all the time, to be the person I want instead of the one I have to show the world.

In the meantime, I can watch this video and sing, “I’m-a do the things that I wanna do, I ain’t got a thing to prove to you…” Yup, it’s Weezer’s “Pork and Beans”. I love the message behind this song. And then there’s the video. This is quite possibly one of the best videos ever. They cover everything and yet make it look cool instead of the embarrassment it was at the time it came out.

Do you remember watching any of these clips on youtube? As my Tudor England professor used to conclude every lecture…”Thoughts? Questions? Clarifications?”

6 Comments

Filed under What's Playing Wednesdays

6 responses to “Pork and Beans

  1. such a fun song! Have a blast at RT! Wish I were going, but AAD and RWA are so close this year, I’m driving to those.

  2. Stacy McKitrick

    Never saw the video before, but love the song (and Weezer!). Have fun at RT. Wish I could afford to go.

  3. Reading this reminded me of George Carlin’s “A Place for My Stuff”. Do you know it?
    Have a good time!

Leave a Reply

