I Blur My Line

I had a completely different song planned for today. Then I remembered this song.

I know y’all probably get tired of me talking about how much music means to me. But no matter what’s happened in my life, what I want to happen, music has always been there. It’s my faithful friend, my rock and my shoulder to cry on. Music never cares about my mood, but it affects it. It can calm me, soothe my soul, feed my muse and lift me up. It can fire me up, fill me with determination and motivate me beyond what I believe my threshhold is.

Today’s song is one that does all of that and more. It inspires me. Maybe it’s the moody guitar riff at the beginning, so simple and unadorned. Or maybe it’s the actual lyrics, or the vocals that reaches into my chest and causes my heart to soar. Whatever it is, I adore this song. It makes me feel both heavy and light, captured and free. How melodramatic, huh? But that’s what music does for me. It’s the most important component in my writing arsenal. Without it, I’m lost and unorganized.

When Corey Taylor of Slipknot and Stone Sour, Dave Grohl of Nirvana and Foo Fighters, Rick Nielsen of Cheap Trick and Krist Novoselic of Nirvana came together to celebrate Sound City Studios and performed this song together. From Can to Can’t is an amazing piece of awesomeness. At least I think so.

What do you think?

Leave a comment

Filed under What's Playing Wednesdays

Leave a Reply

