A Small Complaint

I love music. This shouldn’t come as a surprise to y’all. I managed to fit my love of music into a schedule on my blog with What’s Playing Wednesdays. It’s been an essential part of my life for as long as I can remember.

My mom loves to tell stories about me as a child singing every song that came on the radio. Every song. Including the commercial jingles. Not much has changed. I still sing along, but my tastes have changed. *shuffle* Okay, so there are a few commercials I still sing along with, but not as many.

I love nearly all kinds of music, although I gravitate more toward rock and heavy metal.  I just enjoy the intensity of the songs, but that doesn’t mean I scoff at softer bands. I will get teary-eyed listening to Snow Patrol because wow, that songwriting. *sigh* Rap, hip-hop, some country, some pop, classic rock, golden oldies, jazz, blues, alternative, I love it all. But in the end, I would rather listen to screaming guitars and growling vocals.

Which is why the current trend in crappy female-led metal bands pisses me off. Oh sure, I’m all for girl power. I think it’s awesome that the music industry is starting to see that women love to rock out as much as men do. I think it’s a wonderful thing and I’m all for music that supports that. When it’s good. I’m sorry, I’m sure there are some people out there who just love some of the bands that have become popular lately, but all I can say is “are you kidding me?”

When did being female become more important than writing good music? When did having tits and ass become the most vital part to a band’s popularity than good musica ability and some vocal ability? There are very few bands that I’ll listen to these days with a female singer. VERY few. I can count them on one hand. Those are the bands that are about the music. If I can listen to a song and it takes me a while to realize the singer is female because I’m so entranced by the music, by the lyrics, by the sheer power of the song. I shouldn’t wince when the song comes on because it sounds like two cats fighting and screwing in an alley. The screeching-I’m-so-sexy-I-don’t-need-musical-ability of the newer bands turns me off. And that’s probably wrong of me, but there you go.

There are a lot of bands out there who have female singers who make their songs more about femininity than just a walking vagina singing on stage. Those are the groups I’ll listen to because being a woman is secondary to the music. It isn’t the primary aspect. I can respect that because it shows me they’re not just in it to make men go “Oh man, I wouldn’t kick her out of my bed if she hadn’t shaved her legs in five weeks”.

Of course the record companies aren’t catering to me. Although they should. Maybe if they picked bands who had a smidgen of talent and passion for the music instead of the ones that were only a hair off from being bubblegum pop groups, I’d like them better and share them on my blog.

I surely can’t be the only one who’s noticed this, right? Have any y’all realized the same thing? Or am I really just that snobbish about music?

1 Comment

Filed under humor

One response to “A Small Complaint

  1. No, I agree…and I have been afraid to say it.It seems that all you have to do is be female and be willing to hit a couple of notes as loudly as you can and everyone puts you on stage and says you’re wonderful.You are dead on..(and my sister used to make me sing all the commercials for people, too! I drove everyone in the family nuts.I can still remember a lot of them!)

Leave a Reply

