What A Hoot

It’s Monday. Meh.

From Friday afternoon to just before dawn today felt more like a week than a weekend. I could have sworn today was Tuesday. Honestly!

Why? Well, because I barely had an uncomplicated minute to myself. For the most part, I can’t complain. Friday afternoon, while checking out a building, I stumbled across something I’ll probably never see again. At first, because I was all alone and the building was shadowy and kind of scary and because I was expecting to see something like a snake, possum or raccoon, I was scared. I mean, wouldn’t you be if you saw something move out the corner of your eye and heard this ominous clicking sound? Especially when there was supposed to be nothing in this building?

Liar! Y’all all want to act as though you would have known, but y’all would’ve been just like me. Point at it, shout “holy shit! What is that?” to no one in particular and walk away as though it’s going to grow fangs and come at you like the killer rabbit in The Holy Grail. It was only later that I realized this is what I stumbled across:

2013-02-15_16-04-53_939

It’s a baby owl. One of two I found huddling next to a box in the warehouse. I don’t know if they fell from their perch, if their mother abandoned them when crews began to work on the building or what, but they didn’t look like owls when I first saw them. They looked like…monsters. Sure, laugh! I did. But do you see the size of those talons? I told my coworker if he didn’t leave them alone they were going to fly at his face and eat it.

So the excitement from the Great Owl Discovery faded and I had a baby shower to attend on Saturday. It was nice. My nephew’s girlfriend got a lot of presents and looked adorable with her baby bump. I wonder if she even realizes she’s naming my great-nephew the same name I chose for one of my heroes. Mason. Hopefully this Mason has an easier life of it than the fictional one. Which come to think of it is kind of funny. My sister named her new puppy Izzy. That’s the name of my heroine from Ain’t No Bull. I bet she forgot that.

By Saturday night though, I was convinced someone was trying to kill me. I spent most of the night casting up my accounts (which sounds a lot like math) which meant when Sunday rolled around, I felt like death warmed over. I slept all day, watched G.I. Joe and bitched at Duke for forgiving The Baroness. *mutters*

Anyway, this is going to be another hectic week with a Cabal of Hotness Chat at Coffee Time Romance tomorrow night and the cabal is in full force over at Naughty Author Chicks this week. Again. Yes we invaded them hard. OH!! And the second volume of the Fondled and Gobbled anthology, Going Back for Seconds comes out this Friday. There are some very stressed, freaked out funny women in the Cabal.

4 Comments

Filed under humor

4 responses to “What A Hoot

  1. Didn’t’ca know? the Naughty Author Chicks love it hard. You guys are a blast, and the books are hysterical!
    So…you actually go into the dark and scary basement when you hear ominous sounds? Don’t ever name your coworker. If he doesn’t have a name, he’ll be the first to go.

  2. I love that you found the owls. That’s so cool. And scary, too. Yeah.

    Hope you feel better.

Leave a Reply

