Hacksaw to the Bone?

The theme for What’s Playing Wednesdays this month is misunderstood lyrics. You know you’ve done it. Everyone’s done it at least once and we’re going to embrace our silliness (or bad hearing) this month.

Today’s song was one I figured was a no-brainer. It’s obvious they’re saying “Hats off to the bull”. Yet I discovered a coworker completely misunderstood this song. Let me set the stage for you:

It was my boss’ birthday. We went to the golf course for lunch. It’s a nice place and the food is decent. Most of the office is crowded around this table and the coworker who’s my least favorite is seated across from me. I spent most of the lunch chatting with the girls and trying to ignore my boss and his main cohort’s antics (They’re going to hell. Just sayin’). Anyway, somehow we got on the subject of music for the company Christmas party (Which I’m not attending).

The coworker I least like suddenly stops and says, “You listen to that hard stuff. Do you like Chevelle?”

Feeling as though I was about to step into something sticky, I answered in the affirmative. Chevelle is one of those bands whose songs I love, but I’ve never managed to buy their albums. I listen to them when they come on the radio and jam out like there’s no tomorrow, yet I can’t be bothered to buy their music for some reason.

Anyway, he says, “You know that song, Hats Off to the Bull? Well I heard it, really liked it and started looking for it but I could never find it because I thought they were singing “hacksaw to the bone”.”

Hacksaw to the bone…Hats off to the bull…It must be a down the bayou thing. It seemed pretty straight forward to me, but the more I listened to this song and put myself in my Cajun mind…the more I could honestly hear “hacksaw to the bone” which sounds pretty bad ass, doesn’t it?

You be the judge, do you hear hats off to the bull or hacksaw to the bone?

8 Comments

Filed under What's Playing Wednesdays

8 responses to “Hacksaw to the Bone?

  1. Lol. So funny. I have to hear the story about the boss and the cohort and hell someday. Lol.

  2. Stacy McKitrick

    I hear Hacksaw to the Bull. 🙂

    But I gotta tell you a funny story. We went to a football game (our friend is a teacher at this school). The team’s name is the Bull Dogs. But when they cheered “Let’s Go Bull Dogs”, my husband heard “Let’s Go Poodles” and that’s what he said – out loud! Our friend wanted him to stop, but of course, that just got my husband to do it louder and more often (yeah, he’s like that). Now our friends call them the Poodles!

  3. Anonymous

    Hot Sauce to the Bone

Leave a Reply

