The Bad Stuff

It’s been a little over a month since I quit smoking. I was using Chantix to help me and it helped. It really did, I won’t lie and say I was able to do it on my own. This time of quitting was a lot harder than last time. I’m not sure why, but there you have it. The cigarettes had a tighter hold on me the second time I started than they did the first time around.

But that’s not what I’m blogging about today. It’s related though, so follow along on a rambling blog post…

No. I was at my nephew’s birthday party on Saturday and one of his great-aunts asked me how I come up with my stories. I just kind of shrug because how can I answer that? Stories come to me. I don’t go to them. And I was having some major trouble luring them my way.

Yesterday I talked about my muse returning from the red-light district in Amsterdam and I swear that’s what it feels like. This is where the first part of the blog post comes into play. My last book came out September 19. Since then, I’ve had vague ideas, but hadn’t been able to write them. Then I went on the Chantix…

And it was over. I was done for. There was no writing to be done. I could barely even blog about anything. The Chantix mellowed me out too much. I couldn’t get worked up, pissed off, interested, excited about anything. I think the real reason I’m so enamored of RomantiCon is because I stopped taking the Chantix while I was there and it burned the fog of drugs away.

Danica has stepped out again and the sun feels damn good. My muse is no longer stoned out of her mind. I’m dreaming about the cavemen. Okay, it wasn’t illicit or anything, dammit. I was really hoping for something naughty. What do I get? Taylor Cole working on my house. And no, he wasn’t naked. *mutters*

Anyway. I’m writing again. I’m excited about projects and feeling more like the Danica who could throw out a 50k word story in two weeks. Woot! Now if I can keep away from anything else that will distract me…Ooh! Cavemen!

Oh! By the way, I have a special Caveman Spotlight this Friday…An interview, so if you want to know something about Caveman Christian, be sure to stop by!

5 Comments

Filed under Writing

5 responses to “The Bad Stuff

  1. Awesome news, Danica! There’s nothing like coming out of a writing slump. I’m pleased for you and happy that you were able to let the medication go. And congratulations on no longer smoking! *high five*

  2. Stacy McKitrick

    I’m so glad you quit smoking and I hope you stay that way. It makes not only a healthier life, but a cheaper one, too. Doesn’t it? I mean, cigarettes are expensive!

    I hope you no longer need the drug to stay that way. Side affects are the pits and sometimes you just don’t realize what they are until you stop taking the drug. I was on The Pill and it screwed me up so badly, I didn’t want to have sex (and I don’t think that was the intention, or was it???). Of course, I didn’t realize this until I stopped taking the drug. Talk about a wake-up call. After my first kid, I refused to go back on The Pill and told my husband we would just have to be careful. And we were. He realized he didn’t want me on that drug anymore, either! 🙂

    So, keep up the good work, write lots and lots and save your money!!

  3. Congrats on both accomplishments…you quit and you are thinking again! I hope it all goes well…you never know how things are going to affect you and it DOES take going off to realize it.Be good to yourself…(You didn’t think I was going to suggest that you actually BE good, did you?)

Leave a Reply

