So Excited

And I just can’t hide it. You knew that was coming, didn’t you?

Well, I am. I leave Thursday for RomantiCon and it feels as though it’ll never get here. Friday evening, we had a baby reveal dinner when we learned the newest addition to the family is…Well, first let me just say they did it in such a cute way. My nephew and his girlfriend went to the ultrasound and didn’t even know what they were having. They had the tech seal the ultrasound pictures, write the sex on a piece of paper and sealed that as well. They brought the envelope to a bakery and had cupcakes made. The inside of the cupcake would be either pink for a girl or blue for a boy. We waited through the entire dinner (which was LONG) to find out. Everyone else bit into their cupcakes. I took a knife to mine. I was the first person to go “Yay!” because the minute I opened the inside, I saw blue. We’re having a boy! Le sigh, I’m so happy for them.

I spent most of Saturday doing last-minute beautifying things like a mani-pedi. If only the softness from the foot massage lasted more than two days, I’d feel like a princess. As it is, I’m back in steel toes today and I know by the time I make it to Ohio, I’ll have scaly feet again. *pout*

Sunday was my “Oh my god, what am I going to wear” day. I tried on two outfits, asked opinions and began packing. I refused to look at my dog as I filled my suitcase. She knows something’s going on though. She followed me back and forth to the closet, watched me fill my space saver bags, slide the extra swag I’m taking with me into compartments and yeah…I feel guilty as hell. I wouldn’t say she pines while I’m away. But when I get back, she always lets me know she isn’t happy with me. For at least a day, she’ll run away from me when I call her name and give me the cold paw when I go to pet her. *sigh* The drama I deal with!

And of course, I spent time with Bennett. He’s a little music monster. I had him in my lap and pulled up Sweet’s Ballroom Blitz on my phone. The little punk took the phone away from me and did his version of a dance which is kind of a mix of Stevie Wonder and Ray Charles with his hands in the air and my heavy phone dangled precariously from his little fingers. He loved it. Then I played Psy’s Gangnam Style and he went insane. By the way, my Korean aunt was at the house and she explained Gangnam in South Korea means something very classy and expensive. As in, the average person could never afford it.

You learn something new every day.

So what did y’all do this weekend?

5 Comments

Filed under Family

5 responses to “So Excited

  1. Congrats on the great-nephew-on-the-way! How exciting!
    Dogs…like having a person who you can’t always reason with in the house, huh?…no, wait;I can’t seem to reason with the HUMANS, either!
    Still fighting a bug here.I started to get better but got a chill as we had one, cold morning in the shade,(with a cold breeze) ,trying to sell popcorn for the Cub Scouts.People were so nice; we only had expensive boxes left but a number of people left a dollar or so donation.A couple of dozen leather-clad “Bikers-For-Christ ” came through. Most had bought from relatives already.One fellow paid for a box for us to give away.You never know hat you will experience out there!
    I’m sure you’ll have a great time at the RomantiCon.

  2. Stacy McKitrick

    That is so cool how they shared the news. I would have never thought of doing something like that. But then, I did NOT want to know the sex of my babies until they were born. I wanted to be surprised at their birth. Guess no one does that anymore!

    Have fun at RomantiCon. And dress warmly. I saw FROST on the ground this morning. Brrrr.

    • danicaavet

      I know I wouldn’t have come up with that clever revealing. I’d have been calling everyone “it’s a “. Oh I’m so excited about the cooler weather…seriously, you’d think I was going to be hitting the slopes or something 😉

Leave a Reply

