Watch Out World

I feel kind of lost without my fantasy men on Fridays…I feel very lost. That doesn’t mean I’ve stopped ogling them. Oh hells no. I’m trying to be legit, but I’m not stupid. I plan to sigh and drool over the man who’s going to appear on my Facebook page on Sunday.

In the meantime, I figured I’d give y’all a bit of an update on the family.  You know, those people who constantly provide me with inspirational material? Yeah, them. I don’t think I’ve mentioned it here, but my oldest nephew and his girlfriend found out they’re expecting. Yup, you guessed it. I’m going to be a great-aunt. And not just because of how awesome I am. I mention this because we find out tonight if they’re having a boy or a girl. I’m kind of hoping for a boy, but I’ll just be happy for whatever they give us.

It makes me feel old, to be completely honest. It seems like only yesterday I was changing this boy’s diaper and now he’s going to be a daddy. O.M.G. Seriously, y’all. Oh my God.

That poor baby.

This is the same boy who, at seven years old, went to school and told his class that his dad had been struck by lightning and was in the hospital. As usually happens when tragedy strikes (no pun intended) a member of the class, they made a huge “get well soon” card for him to take home. He hid it behind the sofa. His mom, my sister who should be sainted because of those boys, didn’t even know he’d done this until the teacher asked her “how’s your husband doing?” Yeah, this didn’t end well for my nephew.

He’s the same child who, even now at the ripe age of 23, uses his puppy dog eyes and big pouting lips to get his way. Especially after he’s scared the holy hell out of my mom. He’ll sneak up behind her (nearly every time he visits) and leap out at her. Let’s just say Mom doesn’t need a stress test. She has Patrick who enjoys running around our house, his house, anyone’s house shrieking in this high-pitched tone that grates on your ears. I’m sure he doesn’t do that kind of stuff at his girlfriend’s house but you never know.

To imagine him with a baby…when I still see him as a baby, albeit a big one, just blows my mind. I have no doubt he’ll be a good dad, but that baby is going to end up just as twisted and weird as the rest of the family. Seriously, it’s a family trait to be slightly off-kilter. I don’t know a single member of my family who could be termed “normal”. Well, maybe my godson, but even he has his quirks. No, we’re all weird and it seems we’re multiplying.

Watch out world.

1 Comment

Filed under Family

One response to “Watch Out World

  1. Yep, Danica, the kids grow up faster than OUR childhoods passed, And yours was a lot sooner ago than mine! Great-aunthood is nice; no one calls you “Grandma” but you get all the perks! Congrats to all.

Leave a Reply

