New Career?

It’s been nearly two weeks since my last cigarette and I’ve started doing things a little differently. First of all, I haven’t written much of anything despite my good intentions in the evenings. Work has me stressed out to the max which means by the time I make it to my humble abode, I feel as though any attempt to look at a computer screen would result in my brain leaking out of my ears. So no, I haven’t written anything, but I am brainstorming. The weird, Chantix induced dreams have helped with that bit.

Now that I don’t smoke, I find myself singing more. I have a long drive in the mornings and afternoons and instead of puffing away on my cigarette, I flip through the radio stations to find songs to sing along with. The unfortunate side effect of this is that I can’t sing and I hurt my own ears which means I can only turn the music up louder to keep from hearing myself. Which means I then sing even louder.  Add to this my strange urge to listen to hip hop. That’s not a bad thing…unless you feel the need to dance while you’re listening to it…behind the wheel of a car going seventy plus…yeah, you see my problem?

Today feels like Friday for some reason, but that might just be wishful thinking.

Anyway, I stumbled across this funny video for a song I really like and thought I’d share it with y’all. It has nothing to do with What’s Playing Wednesdays despite the band’s name. I just thought the video concept was great and the song is wonderful. There’s something about this band that really draws me in. I think it has to be the singer’s voice combined with the distorted guitars, the lyrics and the almost old school rhythms. Whatever it is, I love The Black Keys and I hope you’ll like Tighten Up.

4 Comments

Filed under humor

4 responses to “New Career?

  1. Love the song and the video. Can’t wait for your new career. I’d come see you in concert.

  2. You and me,singing away to the radio and drowning out sirens around us! Hang in there with the Chantix….cute kids !

Leave a Reply

