Saber Inspiration #3

We’re in the third week of our Saber theme. I’ve taken part in so many interviews and answered so many questions in preparation of Primal Song’s blog tour, I feel even closer to the characters in my story than I did when I was writing it.

The town of Maison Rouge, Louisiana is a close-knit community and one I easily identify with. When I watched the video for today’s song, at first I was leery about posting it. I don’t condone stealing and stuff. In fact, it pisses me off like nothing else. However, there are some clips in the video, especially the scenes with the band, that reminded me of my wilder college days. Not that we did anything truly nuts. Unless you call roaming the streets on a golf cart at three in the morning, or tossing old Christmas trees on our bonfire nuts.

It was the bonfire in the video that made me think of those days. It was all about just hanging out with my friends, drinking, talking, feeding the fire, and discussing our future. We weren’t into blatantly breaking any laws. Okay, so there was that one time we were shooting fireworks after midnight, but it’s the country!

When I came up with the band, Saber, I thought about the kind of music they’d play. I knew it would be hard rock and decided they’d be more of a down to earth band, one who plays songs people can connect with. Songs about the everyday struggle in life. Hellyeah kind of has that vibe to them. They have that new Southern rock thing going on that I love so much. I like to think of it as a modern version of Lynard Skynard or .38 Special. This song is called “Hell of a Time”.

Remember, I do not condone the activity taking place in this video. Heh

Leave a comment

Filed under What's Playing Wednesdays

Leave a Reply

