They’re Over

I’m not an athletic person, but I love to watch sports. The Olympics, Summer and Winter, are like Heaven for me. I’ve spent the last two weeks glued to the television as much as possible, watching as many events as I could and now they’re over.

*sniff* I’m sad, although I will say London put on one hell of a closing ceremony. I loved it. Of course, they played some of my favorite songs. If I cried while John Lennon’s “Imagine” was playing, that’s because I’m a sap. I sang along with Russell Brand and the Kaiser Chiefs who did a great remake of “Pinball Wizard”. I jammed out with George Michael and did a little sofa techno dancing when Fat Boy Slim popped up.

But it was this moment that I think I enjoyed the most:

I love Monty Python and was thinking right before this performance, “Why aren’t they doing anything by the guys? They’re as British as they come!” and then Eric Idle falls out of the cannon with “Always Look on the Bright Side of Life”. I was whistling and singing along. My cat didn’t appreciate it at all.

I can’t remember enjoying an Olympics as much as I did this one. From our amazing athletes to the inspirational stories of these hard-working Olympians, I’ve never appreciated a summer games more. And no, I didn’t spend the entire time ogling the male athletes. I did actually watch the events.

Did you watch the games or were you inconvenienced by them? What was your favorite story?

3 Comments

Filed under Inspiration

3 responses to “They’re Over

  1. Tina B

    I had the Olympics on almost everyday, all day. At prime time, I missed my shows because we needed to watch them. Thank goodness for DVR and VOD. Lol. My favorite story was Oscar Pistorius. In my opinion, he was an inspiration to all people, handicapped or not. I was so happy when the South African team got the okay to run the 4x400m. Even though they came in last, he got to run again. There were many inspirational stories. I loved them all! I am kind of sad that they are over too. 🙂

  2. I really enjoyed the games this time, too. I usually do but it seems like they did a spectacular job in the UK. AND yeah, I love me some Eric Idle!

Leave a Reply

