Lots of Writhing Bodies

For once I’m not cranky because it’s Monday. Why? Because I had an amazing weekend.

Saturday night I headed to the Big Easy for the burlesque show and it was unlike anything I’ve ever seen. I keep thinking back and all I can say is how happy I was to see that the women who performed weren’t surgically enhanced within an inch of their lives. They weren’t ‘perfect’, but they were beautiful all the same. Probably because they were so in tune with their sensuality and their bodies. It was actually kind of empowering.

It must have been the same for the other women in the audience. Another surprise was there were definitely more females in the audience than males. And they appreciated those swaying hips, tassels whirling in one direction and then the other, the jiggling butts, and all the glitter. I saw more boobs and butts than I’ve ever seen in one place, but it wasn’t uncomfortable because the dancers made it seem so natural.

I’ve been lucky enough to strike up an email friendship with one of the dancers, Ginger Valentine, who is also the Queen of Burlesque 2011 (I believe). She’s a very nice lady who has been helpful during my research and she put on one hell of a performance. I only got to speak with her for a few minutes after the show, but she made sure to ask that I email her if I had any more questions. Hello? I’m a writer! I have a million questions! I just can’t think of them all at once. So yes, I’ll be contacting this lovely lady again.

And as if that wasn’t enough, on Sunday I headed out with the “girls” to see Magic Mike. Oh. My. God. What can I say? If they would’ve just stuck to the dancing and gyrating and all, it would have been the perfect movie. Between Channing Tatum’s sexy-oh-my-god-look-what-he-can-do-with-his-hips dancing, Joe Manganiello’s scruffy, hot as hell body, and Matthew McConaughey’s dimples and Texas drawl, I was a moaning mess. Seriously. After the movie, my sister-in-law said “I kept hearing you moan, but that’s okay because I kept blushing!”

I’m not going to give any spoilers, but seriously, this movie is hot. Oooh, hot. Don’t go in expecting to be enthralled by anything other than bulging muscles and other…things.

I had a great weekend and I’m ready to write! All that inspiration, you know. 🙂 How about you?

4 Comments

Filed under Muses

4 responses to “Lots of Writhing Bodies

  1. I’m hoping to see Magic Mike this Tuesday with my daughter, even though the traitor went and saw it already (I was waiting for her!!).

  2. Glad you got a lot out of the burlesque show. That’s so cool that you have a source for details!

Leave a Reply

