Mama Mia

Continuing on the mama theme we have going in honor of Mother’s Day, I had to pull out the ABBA. You knew it was coming, right?

I mean, it’s ABBA. Probably one of the best, badly dressed bands from the 70s. I’m sorry, let me back up a little. I adore ABBA. I have since I was little. This love was only reinforced in college when I’d sleep at my best friend’s house and her German mother would serenade us with “Waterloo” and “Fernando” at seven o’clock in the morning after we’d been out all night partying. It was either ABBA or Rockin’ Polka (her mother had an evil streak).

Then to make ABBA’s awesomeness even more evident, the movie The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert featured a lot of ABBA from songs to uh, special surprises. It only enhanced my love of “Mama Mia” because really, it’s a great song. ABBA had a ton of great songs and sometimes, when no one’s around to hear this metal head act out of character, I’ll load in my Best of ABBA cd and crank it up to sing along to “Take A Chance On Me” and “Dancing Queen”. Ahem.

So here’s today’s song for the mama’s. I haven’t seen the movie Mama Mia! Mostly because I can’t abide bad covers and I’m afraid I’ll break something if I hear someone butcher ABBA. Here’s the original though.

And now you see why I say they’re the best, worst-dressed band from the 70s. I’ve never seen so much ill-fitting clothes!

1 Comment

Filed under What's Playing Wednesdays

One response to “Mama Mia

  1. Made of awesome!

    I saw the broadway show. It was spectacular. The movie, meh, not so much.

Leave a Reply

