Season of Misery

Today I’m over at CR Moss’s blog. I hope to see some of you there!

My mind is whirling with different themes this morning. I had a rant prepared about the younger generation and their determination to backtrack on the feminist movement. Then I thought about ranting about television shows.

Then I realized I don’t want to rant today. It’s disgustingly humid in south Louisiana this morning and I just can’t be bothered to get worked up about anything. That’s the reason why people down here seem so laid back. It has nothing to do with personality and everything to do with it’s too damn hot to move.

It’s probably why I don’t write as much during the summer as I do during the “winter”. Not like we have a real winter anyway, but when it’s cooler outside, I feel happy and energized. The minute the summer approaches though, my brain wants to go into hibernation. I’m pretty sure not everyone down here is that way. Some people actually lust for summer. I consider them freaks. Sorry y’all, but 110 degree days are nothing to be happy about.

I mean, if you really think about it, the worst parts of being in south Louisiana happen because of the summer. Mosquitos (meh, blood suckers), hurricanes (I hate evacuating), heat stroke (cause you know it happens at least once a year), and sometimes drought. What’s to like about that? *sniff*

Right now we’re only looking at the upper 80s in the way of highs, but it’s climbing which means I’m going to be one miserable woman. In other words, don’t expect too much of me from the end of May until at least September, maybe October.

But don’t worry, my friends, I’m sure I’ll revisit this topic in the middle of July when we’re just starting to bake.

What’s your favorite time of year? Or least favorite?

Leave a comment

Filed under humor

Leave a Reply

