Cajun French: Gourmand

This week I have a word I picked up from my sister-in-law. I’m actually wondering if they’re going to use it on Swamp People since those guys seem to want to be like me. You know, because they used tete dur way after I posted about it. And I’m totally joking, y’all. These are words you may hear frequently down here.

So this week’s word is gourmand (yes you may have seen this word before, but the pronunciation isĀ little different) which is prounounced “goo-mon” (soft n) with that goo drawn out a little. Gourmand can be used as noun or an adjective.

As a noun, it means a “greedy eater”. If you think about it, it kind of makes sense. We’ve all heard the word “gourmond” used when we talk about someone who takes pleasure in their food. The only difference I can think of is the pronunciation. I’ve always heard the Americanized gourmond as pronounced “gore-mond” or something like that.

When gourmond is used as an adjective, it means gluttonous.

So tell me, are any of you gourmond?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Cajun French: Gourmand

  1. Love the word. The picture is gross. Can they even breathe in that muck?

    And yeah, the Swamp People totally want to be your pals. I know you’d love it, too!

Leave a Reply

