The T-Shirt Addiction

I’m over at the Sultry Scribe today with an interview. Stop by for a visit!

Meanwhile, I’m trying to be upbeat. I really don’t like Mondays. Last night I stared into space wondering where the weekend went and trying to figure out how it got away from me so quickly.

But I’m not going to talk about depressing things like work weeks. No, I’d rather talk about my addiction. You all know how addicted to books I am. It’s gotten so bad that I have to physically force myself not to buy more because my checkbook can’t take it. But I probably haven’t mentioned my T-shirt addiction.

It is an addiction. I can promise you that nearly any time I go somewhere, I’m buying a T-shirt there. Why? Because it’s what I like to wear. I’m lucky that I’m able to wear casual clothes to work, but I don’t think my coworkers would approve of some of my shirts.

I have T-shirts from bars and pubs. T-shirts about games and books. Band/concert T-shirts. College T-shirts (my alma mater and my nephew’s college), place-name T-shirts, work place T-shirts. I even have Far Side T-shirts that I can’t bring myself to get rid of. They have holes, stains, and rips, but they stay in my dresser because I might wear them to go fishing or something.

I mention this because while we were in Ruston visiting my nephew, I bought two T-shirts with his college name on them. Two. On top of the one I’d already purchased several months ago. I can’t seem to help myself. When I was at Nationals in NYC, I bought two T-shirts. When I was in New Orleans for the FF&P conference, I bought a sweat shirt (in my defense, it was abnormally chilly that weekend). I have no doubt when I go to Ohio in October, I’ll be buying another T-shirt…maybe more if they have any to buy at the Football Hall of Fame Museum.

What’s your secret addiction?

7 Comments

Filed under humor

7 responses to “The T-Shirt Addiction

  1. One thing we don’t have in common. I’m not a tee shirt wearer. It’s weird because I like the funky phrases you can get on some of them but I never wear them.

    Secret addiction? hmmm, if I told you, it wouldn’t be a seekrit would it? oh, all right, you twisted my arm- my secret addiction is reading my horoscope every day to see if it jives with the kind of day I’m having. Sometimes, it does! but that’s just the law of averages.

  2. Stacy McKitrick

    I think I lost my comment…

    Anyway, are you going to Bouchercon? Is that why you’ll be in Ohio?

    I do believe they sell t-shirts at the Football Hall of Fame (I’ve only been there once, in 1999). Do you plan on going to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, too?

    And my obsession? Magnets! I have to get one from every place I visit. My refrigerator is COVERED! But I figure these last longer than t-shirts, and I never outgrow them!

    • Hey Stacy! I’m going to RomantiCon in October. The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame is there too?? If it’s near, I’ll have to go. No choice. Football and music? Now if only there was a sexy man hall of fame I’d be in hog heaven!

      Someone, I can’t remember who now, had a magnet obsession as well. My grandmother had a thing about bells. She had them from all over the place.

      • Stacy McKitrick

        Rock & Roll Hall of Fame is in Cleveland, not far from Canton. I’ll have to check out RomantiCon. Never heard of it before!

        And if you ever find that sexy man hall of fame, I sure hope you share!!

      • It looks like a lot of fun and hello, there’ll be cavemen there! 😉 I’m not sure if I’ll have enough time to go to Cleveland since there seems to be a few workshops I’d like to go to. It depends on how things turn out, I guess LOL

Leave a Reply

