Really Big News

It seems like I’ve been posting a lot of announcements lately, but things have been going well, so I’m definitely not going to complain about it!

First off, I believe there’s still time to win a copy of my book at Avery’s blog plus I’m giving away another copy of Immortal Love and a $10 Amazon GC over at Avril’s blog so stop by and comment to be entered!

*deep breath*

Now for the news. I’ve been holding onto this for a week. Two months ago, I attended the Silken Sands Conference in Pensacola. The first evening of the conference, I met an editor I accidentally pitched my latest book to. I swear it was an accident. We were talking about some of the authors she works with, about how great their books are, and things just sort of snowballed into a pitch from there.

Last week, while I was sitting on my sofa watching Duck Dynasty, I got an email from Grace Bradley. She wanted my book. I sat there staring at my phone in disbelief for about five minutes. I sent off a reply. I have no idea if it was coherent or not because my hands were shaking so much. I put down the phone and screamed. I told my mom. I was so excited, I ran to my brother’s house (it’s only next door) and burst in, not caring that I was in my pjs, to share the news with them.

Primal Song, my rock star shapeshifting story, is going to be published with none other than Ellora’s Cave! Okay, I might have said, “I’m going to be published with Ellora’s friggin’ Cave! OMG, OMG!” My six month old nephew stared at me like I was crazy, but even he smiled. Eventually. After I scared him by squealing.

Ellora’s Cave is one of those publishing houses that I’ve always wanted to work with. I enjoy their books and they have some really fantastic authors. Oh, and did I mention they have their own conference with beautiful men? Oh yeah. Sorry Seattle, I’m going to skip you this year because I have to go to Canton, OH. And it isn’t just for the conference. I have three words for you: Football Hall of Fame (articles don’t count as words).

ZOMG. It’s been a week and I’m still a little freaked out about this. I mean…when I started this writing journey, I had hopes that things would go well, but now that it’s actually happening it doesn’t seem real.

So there it is. My latest news and I got to share it with y’all…fourth, or maybe fifth. *frown* I had to tell my sister, my aunt and uncles, my cousin…okay, so y’all are like tenth on the list, but I still thought about y’all! *big, smothering hugs*

18 Comments

Filed under humor

18 responses to “Really Big News

  1. Yay. This is freaking awesome. Congrats my friend!

  2. So very excited for you! And more than a little jealous about that conference!

  3. YAY!!!! Grace tweeted she’d offered a contract to someone last week and I am sooooo psyched to know it is you!!! AND See, all that fretting about the accidental pitch was for nought. SUPERSTAR!!!

  4. And oh, yeah, you are the second person from Silken Sands that I know of to be offered a contract and that’s 2 more than got contracts from the last couple of conferences- I’m counting this as a successful for sure conference!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Susan Serigny

    Whoohoo!

  6. Well done you on your accidental pitch!! Congrats and I hope you did an impromptu dance after hearing the news ;D lol
    x

  7. oh congrats!!!!! way to go. 🙂 woohoo! the man pics on your blog are going to get even hotter…

  8. Danica, that is wonderful! I don’t have any books with Ellora’s, but I was this #$%^ close…. Grace read the whole book and gave me a wonderful rejection (several pages long)… You are going to love her….. Congrats lady! I’m so happy for you… ~ Dawn

    • Thanks, Dawn. She’s awesome. I got a chance to really chat with her, so that made it more comfortable for me when I submitted my partial. I’ll no longer underestimate those small conferences, that’s for sure!

Leave a Reply

