It’s Always an Adventure

If you noticed, I didn’t blog yesterday. I think I was still recovering from the weekend, but I’m back up to speed now and ready to tell y’all what happened on the road trip to see my darling nephew.

It started out well. We left at a decent time, laughed and talked a good bit during the six hour trip. It started raining the closer we got to Ruston, but we were expecting that. We checked into our hotel and picked up the kids to bring them out to dinner. That was a bit messy since my brother-in-law is adamant about not parking next to other cars. We had a nice meal despite the rain and called it a night.

Around one o’clock in the morning, I woke up because something seemed wrong. When I opened my eyes, I noticed there was no power in the room. A quick look out the window showed the entire hotel and areas around it without electricity. I peeked through the peephole in the door and saw the emergency lights were on in the hall. No biggie. I went back to sleep, but woke up every hour on the hour, expecting the lights to be back on.

At about six thirty, I finally stopped fighting to try to sleep and got up. Still no electricity and the emergency lights were out. Luckily my brother-in-law was an Eagle Scout and came prepared. He checked on us and left us a flashlight to sort of get ready by. I used my cell phone to shower and try to put make-up on. I’d just finished dressing when the lights came back on. Go figure.

So we made it through the little black out without major problems. Everything seemed fine. But then we went to check out some property my brother-in-law wants to buy up there. We had a carload of people: brother-in-law, sister, me, my nephew, his girlfriend, and my mom. The drive out to the property was nice, giving us a chance to check out the town and the surrounding area.

Then we came to the road to the property. It started off fine. Gravel and all that, but it quickly became dirt. Dirt which had just seen several hours of rain the night before. Yup, you guessed it. We almost got stuck. Everyone in the car sort of froze as we waited for my brother-in-law to reverse all the way down the road again. I swear none of us breathed because we just knew we were going to get stuck in the mud and have to push.

Luckily we got out, but it sort of put a pall over the car. It took us about an hour to find our humor in the situation and we praised my brother-in-law for his mad driving skillz. Which then brought out the comment someone made that when we go anywhere, we’re sure to have an adventure.

Now do you see why I needed a day to relax?

When you go on trips, do you expect things to go wrong? Or is that just my family?

By the way, with the upcoming release of Immortal Love on the 30th, I’ve invited the hero, Mason Landry, to stop by tomorrow for What’s Playing Wednesday. He assures me he has the perfect song to describe Roxana Love, his heroine. We’ll have to see.

1 Comment

Filed under Family

One response to “It’s Always an Adventure

  1. Sounds like an interesting trip, mud and all. Glad you didn’t have to push. But, do tell, is he gonna buy the property and pave the road?

Leave a Reply

