The Natural Flirt

If you follow me on Twitter or Facebook, you know I went to the French Quarter Fest yesterday. I went with my brother, his wife, her friend, and my baby nephew who looked absolutely adorable in his little summer outfit. And yes, I know it’s supposed to be Spring, but it was hot out there.

We started out at Jackson Square listening to a jazz band that normally plays on the Steamboat Natchez. It was good stuff. We found a spot in the grass (without the shade) and sat down to listen for about an hour and a half. Once they broke, we decided to explore the Quarter.

If you’ve been to New Orleans, you’ll already know the area is filled with…unique people. They were out in full force yesterday. We saw a guy wearing a 19th century style wig and long coat with shorts, and so many more interesting people I can’t even describe them all. We meandered through the Quarter to Dutch Alley which is parallel to the French Market.

There were bands all over the place, by the way. They were on the Riverwalk, Jackson Square, several spots in the French Market, Dutch Alley, and of course the individual musicians who hang out on the corners. We actually found a little trio who call themselves the G String Orchestra and they were amazing. The band had a violinist, an accordion player, and a bass player. Their music sounded a little gypsy-like with a touch of French. We must’ve listened to them for forty-five minutes (until they went on break). Great stuff.

But that isn’t what this post is about. The nephew was being an angel despite his dislike of sunlight. Honestly, I think this child belongs to Edward and Bella with the way he wants to avoid sunlight. We decided we should grab a bite to eat and headed over to Jimmy Buffet’s Margaritaville. It was okay, but the best part of the entire meal was when I was holding Bennett.

I have this thing about making him stand up. So I put him on the table in front of me, his little bare feet holding himself up…sort of. He was happy and smiling and then he looked to my right and saw a table of young women. I’m guessing they were in their late teens, early twenties. He stared at them and stared until one of them looked over and waved.

And that’s when the flirting began. He smiled. He drooled. When the other girls looked over to see what their friend was waving at, he did this little shimmy with his shoulders. Kind of like a puppy quivering in excitement. Of course they all went “Aww, he’s so cute!” One of them said all four girls work at a day care which made complete sense. He knew they were his people.

And he did not stop smiling. Oh no, not Bennett the flirt. He batted his long eyelashes at them, let his little dimple peek out, and drooled some more. I was hysterical. He’s a ladies man!

The festival was fun and I think I might need to go back next year. I don’t know if we should bring the flirt with us though. Out of the five of us (baby included), he was the only one who didn’t go home hurting in some way or another. I have a sunburn, my sister-in-law hurt her ankle, her friend got spit up on, crapped on by a bird…yeah, no lie.

But it was a great time. If you ever get the chance to check it out, please do so. There’s music, food, and people, people, people.

2 Comments

Filed under Family

2 responses to “The Natural Flirt

  1. Sounds like a grand time. I love that place. AND Bennett sounds adorable.

Leave a Reply

