The Tattoo Debate

I don’t know how we got on the subject on Easter Sunday, but at some point during the day, we had a tattoo debate. My sister, sister-in-law, nephew’s girlfriend, mother, my brother’s mother-in-law, and I got into a heated discussion about tattoos and unfortunately for the older ladies, they were severely outnumbered.

The debate raged for at least half an hour with everyone offering up their opinions on what they’d like to get done while the mothers shook their heads and looked disapproving. They don’t understand and I can see where they’re coming from. It’s a generation gap. People who had tattoos in their time were considered outsiders, freaks, criminals even. These days, tattoos are more accepted, though there are still those who consider them disgusting and morally wrong, or inappropriate. I’m not one of those people. Obviously.

I’ve always had a fascination with tattoos which is why I got three. It has nothing to do with rebelling against society. I do that on a daily basis by not conforming to what’s popular and mainstream. It has nothing to do with rebelling against my parents. They know I’m “not normal” as they like to call it.

Tattoos are a personal choice, a permanent personal choice yes, a way to show who you are, or as a tribute to someone you love. I don’t always agree with the latter since some bonds don’t always last, but again it comes down to personal choice. That’s what makes tattoos the most personal thing a person can do to themselves. It’s a way of identifying who you are that has nothing to do with a criminal record or how bad ass you are.

The debate ended with my sister saying she wants one and she blames me for it. Yes, you heard me. She says I’m a bad influence on her because she’s colored her hair differently (y’all know about my 3-toned hair colors), has started reading sexy books (she started with mine), and now she wants a tattoo. And she blames me.

What are your thoughts on tattoos?

7 Comments

Filed under Family

7 responses to “The Tattoo Debate

  1. I agree with you – tattoos are largely accepted now as a valid self expression. My sister and I both have them and our parents hate them, but they understand that we’re not criminals or rebels. It’s just personal choice and if my children one day want some ink, I’m all for it.

    • I’d be fine with my nephews (who are like my kids) getting tattoos because it’s a personal choice. Now, if they wanted to get their faces tattooed, I might have words of caution for them, but again it’s their choice. Thanks for commenting!

  2. I have about 20 tattoos and will get many more. My brother on the other hand has none and never plans on getting any because he hates them. There are many ways to express yourself. Tattooing just happens to be how I do it. Every one has the right to express themselves. No matter how they do it, it should be respected as long and you are not hurting yourself and any one else. I think the world has more important things to worry about. =)

  3. Hello Danica! I have two. Both black, tribal Fleur de Lys. I thought about getting two game roosters on my chest, one across the other. I could flex and it would like they were fighting each other. LOL. Someone told me it wouldn’t look too cool when I turned 50 or 60. They’re probably right. And I would have to work out to make them look fighting. Yeah, it used to be only criminals, military people and rebels that got tattoos. But many people nowadays have at least one. A lot of people at work have a bunch. And the stores we go to have people with all kinds of writings on their neck and arms. When I got my last tattoo, they had this huge biker dude with his T-tiny girlfriend. He must have really loved her because he got her name ‘PAM’ on his throat. I hope their relationship lasts. And by the way, Megadeth is cool. Have you heard of ol’ Pantera? Talk about they were some crazy mofos! I had one of their CDS to get psyched for work. I lost it one day. –Mike

    • The rooster idea is hilarious. I remember trying to convince my younger brother (who wanted a tattoo) that he needed Bert and Ernie on his backside *snickers* 😉 Yeah, some tattoos wouldn’t look great when you’re older, but I figure I’ll be a cranky old lady anyway and won’t care 🙂

Leave a Reply

