A Blank Slate

I can’t think of any Cajun French lessons to pass on to you today. The only thing I can really come up with is Swamp People because I was talking with my nephew about it over the weekend.

I really enjoy the show although I do spend a good bit of time cringing. Some of the things said, or done, during the show are outright exaggerations, but that makes for good television. The one thing I get a kick out of, but that irritates me, are the subtitles.

Are they really so hard to understand? Most of the time I have to look away from the television so I can concentrate on what they’re saying, rather than read what they’re saying. Does that make sense? If I read the subtitles, I can’t really gauge their emotions. Then again, looking away from the television means I miss something.

Then we had to talk about who our favorites are. My nephew and I both agree that Mitch and Glen are downright hilarious, but if I had to pick an absolute favorite, it’d be Troy. Second to him would be Liz because what woman wouldn’t admire another who had the courage and know-how to go out catching alligators? I mean, that’s just awesome.

But then we went back to talking about the subtitles. It seems I’m not the only one from here who has a problem with them.

I’ll put the question to y’all. If you watch Swamp People, do you have to read the subtitles to understand any of the hunters when they’re speaking?

3 Comments

Filed under humor

3 responses to “A Blank Slate

  1. Nope, don’t need them. I can understand the Swampers just fine. Could be the French Canadian in me though.

  2. Jillian

    Haven’t watched. Sounds like something fun, though

  3. cookiemomma

    We love Swamp People and I actually know a few of the guys on the show. The subtitles are absolutely ridiculous. Of course those guys’ accents really are no where near as thick when they are not being filmed.

Leave a Reply

