A Sappy Love Song

Okay, so I make a pretty big deal out of my lack of sappiness. And then I completely undo all of my tough talk by posting this song.

We recently lost one of the most fantastic voices of our time. I know Whitney Houston’s career did a complete 180, but I don’t think anyone can deny the woman could sing. When I’d hear the list of female singers who are considered “divas”, I always snort and shake my head because none of them can hold a candle to Whitney in her prime.

Whitney’s songs made up most of my late childhood and teen years. Of course one of the songs she’s most famous for is a remake by Dolly Parton. I actually remember watching the movie The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas and I can only wonder what in the hell my parents were thinking. Or maybe they had nothing to do with it and I stayed up late one night. I can’t remember now, but I know I watched that movie and heard Dolly’s version of this song.

I’m usually very choosy about remakes (as you know), but when I heard Whitney’s version…I knew she’d surpassed Dolly’s. I mean…Whitney’s remake of “I Will Always Love You” is one of those songs that I will sing along with (rather horribly if you want the truth) no matter where I am. I just can’t help myself. And yes, I also try holding that long note at the end. I have to stop, breathe, and start again, but I try, dammit!

So today’s What’s Playing Wednesday song is for Whitney whose star burned too bright and was extinguished much too soon. Thank you for the beautiful music you gave us.

4 Comments

Filed under What's Playing Wednesdays

4 responses to “A Sappy Love Song

  1. I LOVED THIS SONG! One of my favorites. I’m sad she’s gone.

  2. Sorry, I hated this one. Dolly Parton wrote it and sang it as a lovely ballad in Last Little WhoreHouse in Texas. I think Whitney’s version butchered the original loveliness of it.

Leave a Reply

