Building the Scene

You may not realize this, but I use a lot of real life situations in my books. They might be things that haven’t happened to me, but they’re usually things that have happened to people I know.

When members of my family read Succubus-in-Waiting, they were howling with laughter because one of the scenes I wrote actually happened to my mom and aunt with my little brother as the culprit. I’m not going to tell you what it is, but needless to say they loved it. My brother, who should have been shamed to have one of his childhood indiscretions plastered in a book, pointed it out to everyone. “My sister used me in her book!” I did tell y’all my family loves the attention, right?

Well, over the weekend, I learned about another little…well, goof I guess that’s going into a story. When I first heard it, I was thinking there’s no way I can put this in the story I’m currently writing. It doesn’t fit. But as I worked on my WIP, I realized that it can fit and make for a great scene.

During the morning drive, I was building the scene in my mind. I picture it so clearly I know it’s going to be vital to the humor of the story and enrich the secondary characters as well as build on my world even more. Again, I’m so not telling y’all what it is, but if this book gets published, I hope you’ll all enjoy it.

Have you used real life situations and memories in your books? Do you find they enrich the story?

3 Comments

Filed under Writing

3 responses to “Building the Scene

  1. Jillian

    Super. Yes, I mine real stuff all the time. My cousin who I travel with always asks, “is this going to end up in a book?” I usually say yep! I love that you do that, too.

Leave a comment