Movie Bound

It’s funny, but until my first book was published, my sister wasn’t a big reader. Years ago, we used to swap books. I’d give her some of my favorite romances to read and she’d pass along Stephen King’s books. I liked the arrangements, but life got in the way and she didn’t have time to read anymore.

When I got published, she read every one of my books and demanded more. That’s when I started introducing her to the world of the kick-ass heroine. Back in the early 90s, heroines were still a little wimpy. Sure, there were some hellions in the bunch, but they hadn’t gotten to the independent state they are now. She was instantly hooked and devoured every series I threw her way. Black Dagger Brotherhood? She was all over that. The Pride Series (Shelly Laurenston)? She ate it up with a spoon.

Pretty soon I’d run out of my favorite series to share with her and decided I’d throw something different her way. That’s when I introduced her to Stephanie Plum. In case you’re not a big romance reader, Stephanie Plum is the brainchild of Janet Evanovich. There are eighteen books in the series with little asides to whet your appetite. I’ll admit I haven’t read the more recent books, having stopped at Fearless Fourteen. However, my sister read every book I gave her and ordered the rest.

She adores the series and I can’t blame her. I mean, who isn’t jealous of Stephanie Plum? She has Joe and Ranger who both want her. I personally think she should go with Ranger. My sister agrees. Ranger…le sigh! Then, when I told her the first book of the series One for the Money was made into a movie that’s being released Friday, the first thing she said was, “We’re going, right?”

Yup, we’re going. Her husband’s coming too. I’m still trying to wrap my mind around that, but she told me she tried getting him to read the series too but when she explained it to him, he told her he didn’t have to read it now because she told him everything about it. *shakes her head* Men. Still, I think he might get a kick out of the movie. At least I hope he does. I also hope I’m not disappointed.

I’ve seen who they have playing Joe and Ranger and neither man fits my idea of the characters. You know what I mean. When we love a book so much we’d love to see it on the big screen, we all have a perfect idea of which actors/models should play our favorite characters. I do the same thing when I’m writing, too. Yet the cast for the movie, with the exception of Katherine Heigl, don’t fit my idea of the characters. Meh, maybe I’m just being picky.

Anyway, here’s the trailer. Who else is going to see it?

4 Comments

Filed under reading

4 responses to “Movie Bound

  1. i’ll see it but I’m not a Heigl fan. LOL!

  2. Never read the books, but the movie does look interesting. And I like Katherine Heigl.

Leave a Reply

