Football Mania

I’m sure many of you already realize that this weekend was the second round of playoff games in the NFL. You may also remember that I’m a Saints fan.

We lost on Saturday afternoon. It was one hell of a game and I honestly felt like I had multiple personalities while watching it. Jillian Chantal commented on Twitter something like “mood swings, Danica embraces you”. And that’s almost exactly what happened.

I was confident in the Saints, but not as confident as some people I know. I knew we were going to have trouble with the outdoor field and San Francisco, I believe, has the top ranked defense in the NFL. It was one of those games that I really thought would kill me. By halftime, I’d already gone from happy and expectant to depressed and dreading the second half. Then things started happening. We started scoring on them. We were so there!

I’ll probably never forget my reaction when we scored a touchdown in the fourth quarter when a minute and a few seconds left. When we scored, I jumped off my sofa and stormed the television set, screaming and running in place (because I was trying to urge the receiver to run faster). Then came the screaming of excitement and jubilation. We so won. I knew it!

And then those wily punks came back and scored on us with 10 seconds left in the game. I knew it was over then. And just like that, my excitement took a nose dive. Oh man, I was pouting at the television, but you know…I was actually okay with it because the game was good. No one dominated. The defense got us and we got them with our offense. It was an exciting game and will probably go down in my memories as one of the best I’ve ever seen.

Three out of the four games played this weekend went against my hopes. The Broncos lost, so did the Texans, and Saints. But the Giants. Ah, the Giants did exactly what I wanted them to. I can cheer for the Giants because Manning is from New Orleans and Jacobs is from a small town close to home. Two homeboys in the NFC Championship game. I’m really, really hoping they put a smackdown on the 49ers. Sorry, San Fran, but I want the Giants to go to the Super Bowl.

The biggest problem I can see with the world championship game approaching is that football season is almost over. What will I do with myself on Sundays now? And Monday nights? Sometimes Thursdays? What will I watch? *sniff* I’m about to fall into football offseason depression.

Ah well, the Saints are still (and always will be) my favorite team and next year is going to be even better!

2 Comments

Filed under Football

2 responses to “Football Mania

  1. With the teams left to play toward the Super Bowl, I am no longer interested. I hate the 49ers (since they are rivals against my Rams). I hate the Ravens and Patriots (since they are rivals against the Steelers). And the Giants? – I can’t stand Eli Manning (sorry!).

    So, basically football is already over for me. I’ll be watching me some more hockey – Go Penguins!

Leave a Reply

