Cajun French: Dris-Guile

It’s time for another lesson in Cajun French. We’re all learning together today because I’d never heard of today’s word until my sister-in-law’s mother mentioned it.

Dris-guile (I’m not sure if it’s spelled correctly) is pronounced “dre” (gutteral dr, long e) “guy”. It means knick-knack. It’s very familiar to a chu-chut, or a thingamabob, or doo-hicky.

You’d use it like this:

Hand me that dris-guile.

Like I said, I’d never heard this of this word until recently. I remember when I’d visit my great-aunt with my grandfather they’d speak in French. The only way you knew they were talking about you was when they looked your way, or pointed. It was frustrating in the extreme, especially when I wanted to learn Cajun French. The same thing happened with my Korean aunt. I could tell when she was swearing because she’d make this hacking sound, but I had no idea what she was saying. Again, frustrating because if there’s one thing I want to learn it’s the bad words in other languages, LOL

Now if you don’t mind, I’m going to dust the dris-guile cluttering up my workspace.
 

1 Comment

Filed under Family

One response to “Cajun French: Dris-Guile

  1. Hadn’t heard this one. Thanks for educating me!!

Leave a Reply

