Random Thoughts

I have nothing to talk about today. For the most part, my brain is concentrating on a story I shouldn’t start writing until I’ve finished the one I’m working on right now. It yearns to write that new story to the point it’s in my mind the moment I wake up in the morning. Ideas plague me the entire day. I can hear wisps of conversation and thoughts from my characters and it’s nearly driving me insane.

It isn’t that I don’t want to finish the story I’m writing right now because I do. I can see (in my mind) where I need to flesh out my characters more, add a little more danger and conflict to the story, that kind of thing, but this other story is pushing at my concentration. I’m going to stick to my guns though. I have to finish this story because I haven’t finished anything since…October? September? I can’t remember when I hit the end on my reindeer story now, but it’s been a while.

No, I’m not crazy. Those of you who are writers are probably nodding your heads thinking, “Yes, I too am driven half-mad by my stories.” If I explained this to my family they’d give me one of those looks. You know the one I’m talking about. The one that suggests you really have lost your mind and maybe it’s time to call the men in little white coats. I’ve even tried explaining to my mother how I hear my characters talk in my head and she may have said something along the lines of, “You’re crazy”.

Maybe writers are crazy though. Maybe living in our fantasy worlds with characters who exist solely in our minds before they make it to paper is insane. Do I care? Not really because I know they’re there for a reason. They want their stories told. They demand it, damn it! And since the first day I decided my hand at writing (seriously writing), I’ve been helpless to deny them what they want.

So now the question of the day: How many stories/characters/plots are circling around your head? I have at least eight that I can name off the top of my head. That doesn’t include the ones I have half-written, or bare bones etched out.

7 Comments

Filed under Writing

7 responses to “Random Thoughts

  1. I think us writers are a bit of crazy. I know I’ve been told that a couple times after someone has read my story. LOL!!! That’s okay. It’s all good! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Crazy is one of the most valuable assets a writer has…thankfully other writers understand…I have about the same amount all fighting each other for domination. Real crazy is not getting them out..

  3. I agree with you and Lynn. Yeah, we’re crazy but in a woderfully, wacky way.
    I try to hold off new characters with the hand in the air motion and tell them to back off til I’m ready for them. It sometimes works- Sometimes!

  4. Sometimes characters from older ideas will pop into my head while I’m working on my current story, but usually when I’m stuck on the story. I guess they think it’s their turn! But once I’m in full-mode in my current WIP, there’s no room for anyone else!

    I guess I should consider myself lucky in that regard!

Leave a Reply

